last day/night of LA


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California
October 8th 2011
Published: October 12th 2011
Edit Blog Post


I’m on a train!
Ok so the tour of the ‘gates of the rich and famous’ didn’t exactly float my boat, it was a walk around tour which the hostel implement. All along Hollywood boulevard spruikers will try and lure you onto there buses for similar sights (I think). So on the way back from ‘Bel air’ I get off the bus and head over to a huge musical instrument shop we had passed earlier. The front was adorned with hand prints of famous musicians (more my thing compared to the Hollywood stars and chinese theatre hand prints). I went into the shop with the intention of purchasing a cheap guitar and couldn’t believe for starters how many were on display and the prices, well lets just say the Australian dealers must be going ok.
I picked up an epiphone acoustic for $130 roughly including a tight fitting soft case. I got to play it last night back at the hostel (ah relief). I was not keen on a big one since I was leaving in the morning for San Fran but after a small kip and with the thought of not wanting to miss out on a Friday night
Joining inJoining inJoining in

I got all the way up....honest! ;]
in hollywood ventured out with a fellow traveller.
One night club which looked a bit edgy and rock caught my attention so in we went, staying for a couple of slightly flat beers but at $4 a pint you couldn’t argue too much. Nothing eventful to report so after woofing down a chilli dog at roughly 1.30am sleep beckoned.
This morning I left the hostel catching the subway (with an additional item now) to Union station from which the train to San fran leaves. I am currently now about 4 hours into the trip. Some of the coastal scenery has been spectacular complete with a verbal guide of the scenery through which we pass if you go into the viewing carriage.

Yadda Yadda Yadda, that was what i typed out on the boring train ride yesterday will add an updated one later.
love to all
Grant


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

u get the picture!u get the picture!
u get the picture!

note the skinned elbow and knees- gotta love rollerbladding.
DSC00027DSC00027
DSC00027

it neva went past my lips unfortunately
I have wings!I have wings!
I have wings!

A busker hit me up for $5 and his birds went to town!


Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0566s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.4mb