A Whale of a Time


Advertisement
Published: April 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Wow, what a day! sneaked out early (thank god for the maglite, essential) then got myself down Fisherman's Wharf and picked up a hire bike, took it over the Golden Gate Bridge which was the activity I always banged on about for San Fran, it was pretty damn amazing (apart from almost cycling onto the Freeway bit)

then i found myself some miles on at a superb little place called Rodeo Beach (looks like the beach from the end of the Goonies) saw a whale of all things spouting it's water, and the power of the waves was really something to behold.

then went up a high track into Marin County (the home of mounting biking) sadly my bike was not designed for such terrain so had to push to the top of the hill. Twice I encountered some sinister slithering green snakes, how dangerous they were I'll never know! Turned back earlier than i wanted to beacuase once again, I'd forgotten my sunblock! (that's the last time I'll be doing that)

biked around a bit more inc under the GG Bridge and got some friendly Californians to take my pic with downtown in the background, could not argue with them that San Fran is the best city in the world (I'v not seen a better one, yet!)

Then down into Sausserito (wrongly spelt but I don't have the will to resource such things) which is very beautifull and prosperous, locked up the bike and walked around, felt a bit scruffy for most of the eateries, so sold my soul to the devil and caught a coffee and lemon cake at Starbucks (the shame, the shame) Then caught the ferry back to Pier 41 past alcatraz, it went periously close to a bulk cruiser and I tried not to look nervous in front of the locals.

Returned bike, and now I'm going to suffer from too much sun, it was beautifull weather, very sunny but cooled by the breeze from the bay, think I'll go out once dark and get myself a tasty burger!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.146s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 51; dbt: 0.1089s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb