Falling in love with 'the city'


Advertisement
Published: April 26th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Despite feeling more tired than ever in my life (even more tired than the end of the IPEX show) I did not sleep one bit last night, my pillow slipped down the back of the bunk and had to retrieve it from behind the Hungarian chap beneath me, thank god he did not wake up, could of been hard explain standing over him with a pillow in my hands.

Breakfast of pancakes and coffee, had it with a nice bunch of swiss guys who sadly were checking out, that will obviously be the way of things on this trip, people moving on, but learning allready to get in quick with 'where you from, where you going, where you been' type icebreakers.

So wandered around town, up the 'coit tower' which gives a superb view of the 'bay' got my ticket for a tour of Alcatraz on thursday, walked up that windy, crooked street that Steve McQueen navigated so brilliantly in 'Bullit' but perhaps the sweetest moment was 'Lafettye Park' just a simple little park in 'Nob Hill' (huh huh) but filled up my water bottle there and sat on a bench and just smiled to myself, anyone passing might of thought me a bit mental but what the hell anyone who knows me thinks that anyway.

walked into the more 'dodgy' part of town then walked around a 'chemists' looking for american versions of things you can get in Britain (yes it's tragic)

seriously though, this city is seriously likeable, must remember to be more carefull about getting a map out in Union Square, within seconds some dodgy bloke will offer to show you the way to wherever he thinks your're going. (i only gave him a buck)

going to have a little lie down, i guess the sun is stronger in California than on the Isle of Skye.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0429s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1004.6kb