the 1st american post


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » San Francisco
September 23rd 2010
Published: September 23rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday I arrived in San Francisco with a real pleasure.
Let me just summarize the journey from Paris to SFO: Thanks to Dago I arrived prefectly on time to Orly Airport, and then took a plane with propeller (!!) to reach Dusseldorf. The hotel that I booked was...overbooked but ze germans are very well organized and transfered me to another one, 2km away. Then at the desk I could not register for the plane because I had no tickets to leave the country, meaning they did not want to let me get in the plane. In a super hurry I booked for Chihuahua (the city of Pancho Villa, but wait for me to be there and I will tell you more about him). I skip the details that I had to go to a hotel business center, run like a greyhound etc etc. But here I am !!

Leaving the airport at 3pm, my meeting point was 7pm with Vincent at the Fisherman's wharf, one of the - if not THE - most touristic place of SFO. to keep the spirit I took the BAT until Powell St, and then the cable car to the Pier 39 (at Fisherman'). Sooo exciting. Same wire mechanism for the last 150 years, you go uphills and downhills like crazy. okay it is touristic, but it is really funny. and it's part of the game.
What I can say it that SFO is very open-minded city, you can talk very easily with people, and there are plenty of distractions around for the tourists.





My tip: Try the best burger in town, at "IN N' OUT". There is one located on Jefferson Street 333. I did, and it is really excellent.

After couple of hours with the tourists (having fun with a guy hiding behind a bush and scaring people, watching the street players, ...), I finally met Vincent. We went for the massive piece of beef, a 400g steak each. With californian wine. Ans straight to Santa Rosa because I have to admitt that it was more than 24h for me without sleep, so you know, I turned old now...

Now I am relaxing at Vincent's, planning the following days and waiting for him to come back from the office to go to SFO for the Oktoberfest. We will meet again most probably in Las Vegas and Los Angeles.







Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



27th September 2010

yeahhhh
ohhh Beautiful San Francisco! Its bloody winter here; I am wth my winter clothes; stuck in the office...Mondayyyyyy mood Have fun and enjoy the sun bisousss

Tot: 0.249s; Tpl: 0.042s; cc: 7; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0559s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb