Sites along the Great Highway


Advertisement
Published: April 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Paraglider and PacificParaglider and PacificParaglider and Pacific

I found a small pull off and parking lot on the West side of the Great Highway, just a couple of minutes West of Harding Park.
After playing the nine hole Jack Fleming course at Harding Park, I went looking for the entrance to The Olympic Club to see if I could buy a golf cap. As luck would have it, I did find the entrance, no one was looking, but I was wearing jeans. Luckily the guys in the pro shop turned their head for a brief moment while I bought the cap, then I got out of there as quickly as I could. I guess it helped that I ended up there in the late afternoon on a Saturday, a time when members are typically not found around the grounds much.


Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Entrance to The Olympic ClubEntrance to The Olympic Club
Entrance to The Olympic Club

I found it! Right along the Great Highway.
No one is manning the booth?No one is manning the booth?
No one is manning the booth?

That sounds like an open invitation to me, since all I want to do is buy a cap.
Olympic Club parking areaOlympic Club parking area
Olympic Club parking area

The pro shop is at the top of the hill to the Left.
Looking North EastLooking North East
Looking North East

Hey, I couldn't get picky with my picture taking, I had no business being on the grounds of this exclusive club!
10th Tee at Olympic?10th Tee at Olympic?
10th Tee at Olympic?

I am guessing so, since this is definitely not the first tee, but is located close to all the buildings.
First tee at OlympicFirst tee at Olympic
First tee at Olympic

No wonder the pros have so much trouble with this course. Tight fairways, cooler temperatures, and of course, a steady breeze off the Pacific all day.
Clock on the Practice RangeClock on the Practice Range
Clock on the Practice Range

The lettering says The Olympic Club at the top. Just like the one in the far right of the picture by the first tee.
Practice RangePractice Range
Practice Range

I would expect a nice practice facility like this at such an exclusive place.
Lake or Park Merced areaLake or Park Merced area
Lake or Park Merced area

Looking East from the West side of the Great Highway, a bit North now of The Olympic Club.
Concrete Structures?Concrete Structures?
Concrete Structures?

Wish I would have made it down there to look at those close up. They might have been part of Battery Davis in operation back around WWII timeframe.
Twin PeaksTwin Peaks
Twin Peaks

In the distance there in the middle of the photo. This was a great area to bring dogs, they were running all over the place, having quite the large time.
San Francisco Zoo EntranceSan Francisco Zoo Entrance
San Francisco Zoo Entrance

Right along the Great Highway, at its Southern end. The Pacific is to the Left of the photo.
SunsetSunset
Sunset

Getting late in the day now.
Cliff HouseCliff House
Cliff House

Looking North from Ocean Beach.


Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0662s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb