Day 2 In San Fran


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » San Francisco
September 17th 2007
Published: September 17th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hello!

Owing to the popularity of yesterdays entry I present another run down of what I've been up to today!

Well last night I went for a meal in an italian part of town, I had gnocchi which was really good, and sat outside between two american women complete with paris hilton size dogs, and an american couple who were really friendly and asked me all sorts of questions about what I was doing and kept on chatting to me which was nice. People are really friendly here which is nice, I think the weather makes people happier than they are in the UK. So I had dinner, and then went back to the hostel, walking as I do past all of the strip clubs (most of which are huge and look surprisingly upmarket) and there was a man wearing a 'Jesus loves you' T-shirt with a megaphone standing on a street corner shouting to all of the people getting out of cars and limos about how they were going to burn in hell. It was so funny, I had to stop myself laughing out loud at him.

So today I decided to go to the golden gate bridge, its actually a bit of a way away from where I am staying so I thought I would attempt to get the tram, to the bridge on the SF side, walk across and then into sausalito and then get the ferry back. This is the way round (i.e SF to Sausalito) people seem to do it, so I thought I would too. However I got a bit confused, and decided in the end to get the ferry across and do it in reverse. The ferry journey was nice, and had some good views of the whole of the city and sausalito was lovely, a really picturesque little town. I got off the ferry and asked the Tourist information lady if it was possible to walk from sausalito to the bridge, and she said it was but its a very long walk and its mostly uphill.

I thought to myself that this was probably an american long walk, so as a hardy british person I would be ok. Was I wrong, it took me about 2 and a half hours of trudging up hill in the heat next to the road to get to the bridge entrance, the only person walking, while constantly people who have sensibly rented bikes and done the trip the right way round zoom down the hill. That said however it was very impressive when I got there, and worth the walk. Its not actually made of gold though which was disappointing. There was a good view of the city as you can see from the photos. So I walked over the bridge (another 2 miles) and then after some more confusion trying to find a bus (and still I ended up about a half hour away from the hostel) , and an embarrassing moment with me trying to work out how to give the bus driver the right change. I came back towards the hostel.

So thats pretty much it for today, it doesn't sound like a lot, but I have very weary legs. I think I'm going to go the the fishermans area for dinner tonight so I let you know how it goes.!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



17th September 2007

Exciting
Lewis - It's such a good idea to do this blog. It makes us feel part of the adventure. Lovely photo of you too PS Didn't know you could write so well - Just thinking of all the gems we must have missed in the past, because we couldn't read the handwriting!! Lots of love. Mum xx
17th September 2007

Witty!
Hello! once again you have managed to be witty..obviously following in Dad's comedy footsteps :) Glad you are having a good time xxxxxxxx
18th September 2007

Very good
Very enjoyable and nicely written. Good to see your expensive education has worked!It's clear you've inherited both my writing and IT skills........ I hope you keep this blog up up for your entire stay in the USA including San Diego! Love Dad

Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0349s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb