San Francisco on a winter rainy day...


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » San Francisco
February 4th 2023
Published: March 13th 2023
Edit Blog Post

As usual, I'm running a little late on my blogging. I know it is even over a month late! The funny part is I've got some time on my hands this afternoon, and I'm writing this from Kinshasa. It seems we are truly back to pre-covid time, and I can once again declare the world a small place!



Going from Mexico to Bali is not a short trip. So a short stop on the way back home is always welcome. I have to admit, I'm not a huge fan of 24 hours stops in LA. Been on the West Coast up and down tons of time...so it's all about back to simply efficient stay.



I arrived late afternoon in SFO...checked-in in one of the non-descript airport hotel....clean room, nothing to say much about it. Stay on purpose walking distance from an IN-N-Out Burger for a nice last fun meal here. Early morning, I'm on on the BART train to SF Downtown. I knew it would be a rainy day. What, not a warm sunny day in San Francisco in February...for once the weather was pretty normal for the season. I have to add that the region has faced huge floods over the past weeks, so having mild rain was actually more than bearable!



So I did the usual...went on tram and ate lunch at Swan Oyster Depot. I found out in the morning that late afternoon would welcome the Chinese New Year parade. Chinese New Year is long gone, but they had the tragic California shooting in Monterey Park few days before...explaining the late date. Result of it, most trams were cancelled or later cancelled for the afternoon.



Lunch was at the Oyster Swan Depot. The queue was the usual 45 minutes....and I could witness one more the huge inflation that hit the US. I admit it is scary to witness the inflation if you compare to life in Asia and Africa. Whatever, the service is still top and the food super nice!



Took the time to do some shopping too, as even with inflation, there are still some good buys all around the US. I came back with a lot more to Bali than I left with.



Late evening the parade started. It's one of my first parade in the States. There is the Chinese New Year one as well as the St Patrick one. Fun atmosphere with tons of people smiling in the light rain! Did enjoy some of it, just another fun experience for me. But time to get back to SFO not to miss my flight!



Flight back home was with Eva Air...another full flight back to Taipei. Point to note, Premium economy is a good deal with them...seat is actually nice...and food was way better on the way back to Taipei than on the flight out of Taipei!



Not going to blog a lot the coming few weeks...I'm back this week to South Africa for more golf, wine and hopefully some stunning dives! Than next is back to home in Bali few days later...and Easter is already showing pretty soon...and a week in between Kuala Lumpur and a long romantic Bangkok weekend...for more special food and some shopping.



Hope your life on the road is as nice as mine. It's good to be back to that fun small earth and to meet friends again!



Next blog...early May...to a place I haven't been for 16 years!


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



Tot: 0.146s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 27; dbt: 0.096s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb