Chinese New Years Parade in San Francisco


Advertisement
Published: February 13th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Ferry BuildingFerry BuildingFerry Building

This is where I got my Korean tacos! They were surprisingly good but I think it's one of those things where it's just fun to try because it was rather difficult to eat and it was a bit pricey.
This weekend was a bit of a happy accident I suppose. I went out with my coworkers to San Francisco expenting to spend the day at the Golden Gate Bridge then to go to the Chinese New Years Parade with them. Well, through a series of events, it ended up being more informative on the working of some persons minds than I could have imagined.

We started the day off arriving at the Embarcadero which was great! I got my Korean Tacos and had a great time. So, we were going to catch a bus to the Golden Gate Bridge. Well, one of the girls didn't want to switch buses 2 or 3 times to get there. Taking a taxi was only $15 and there were 4 of us, so about $3.75 a person. Well, she decided she wanted dim sum in Chinatown even though I warned her against having it there. I'll be honest, the food in San Francisco Chinatown is something I'll never favor. So, ignoring my advice, she walks into a small dining place that spelled bad news and I had the worst Chinese food of my life. I think I'd rather eat that $1 on the side of the freeway. I took one bite of the fun guo and I could taste the MSG. And the entire time she was like, "it's not that bad."

So, off that topic, a series of events like the one above occurred. When we went to the Chinese New Years parade, after 30 minutes of not settling on staying in one place to watch the parade because there were "too many people" they decided to leave. So I watched the show by myself. This is where the happy accident occurred. I went closer to the parade and ended up finding a great spot. My great spot...was standing on the corner of a potted plant in front of Tiffany's. But wow could I see everything! The parade was amazing. There were so many dragons and lions and the floats were over the top! I've never seen anything so exciting for New Years. I made me a bit homesick though because I didn't get to celebrate with my family.

After the parade, I ended up staying over at my cousin's house and we stayed up chatting. So more than anything, I'm thankful that I have great family that will let
Super Yummy Japanese Dessert ShopSuper Yummy Japanese Dessert ShopSuper Yummy Japanese Dessert Shop

OMG!!! Such cute, yummy desserts!
me stay when I get abandoned. We ended up having lots of fun chatting and eating fun food 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

BallonBallon
Ballon

A bunch of balloons escaped! And they floated up and looked a bit like a dragon...Year of the Dragon!
MacyMacy
Macy

People were jammed into Macy's just to watch the parade. PS. totally worth it


Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0332s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb