Well then, back to Asia~


Advertisement
South Korea's flag
Asia » South Korea » Seoul
February 6th 2012
Published: February 6th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Hard to imagine that one day can find you in one location, living a certain way of life, and the very next can find you 4,000 miles across the world, just making a pitstop before going the other 2,000 and starting a whole new way of life. That's why we have planes, Skype, and all that wonderful technology.

And that's where I'm at now, in life, in the world. For the time being, I can enjoy myself (and try to let go of bits of the past while I'm at it) here in Korea. I need to remember how to be adventurous and spontaneous and all of that fun stuff again. That's why I have China though. It'll be the new experience I need.

It's also why I have good friends though. Gosh, so many people to see in Korea! Suddenly, I feel like the days won't be long enough after all. It's just 9:30am, the day after I arrived, and already I'm thinking about how I'm going to manage this. Of course I want to meet up with everyone! But I also don't want to miss out on spending any time with one of my best friends. It's a catch 22. Wanting to see everybody but being unable to without taking time. Ah, well, I'm sure it'll work out.

Anyway, the flight here was smooth and even arrived a bit early (early enough that apparently even the monitors indicating the flight schedules showed the difference in ETA). After arriving, my friend and I got a cab, went to her apartment (up like two flights of stairs with luggage (can I just say how grateful I am I didn't have to carry it all) and into her apartment - which is actually really cute), and then back down again to go eat at a local Kimbap restaurant. I sat there for a second. looking at the menu, and it occurred to me that I could get absolutely anything I wanted and it would taste good. I got gogi mandu (right, forgot a pic so I'll take one later), a kind of meat dumpling, and chamchi kimbob, tuna and some vegetables mixed and held with rice and seaweed (much like California rolls).

Then, we went to Home Plus and a mini mart to stock up on soy milk (oh my god, such amazing soy milk) and some other beverages. Pretty much that was it. The weird thing was, it felt like I've never left Korea. Even though I have been gone since August, I guess living here for ten months really taught me how much things don't really change even when you're gone. It was one thing returning to America after Korea realizing that everything was pretty much the same; it's an entirely different feeling returning to Korea. I still remember what I knew of the language and workings and everything.

It's very easy to fall into old habits, though I really wish it were exciting and new to me, being here. I'm happy though, to see friends and family and to eat wonderful food. I kind of thought I'd feel differently, but really I am just happy to meet again with loved ones. Unfortunately, there's also that feeling of nostalgia, which hit me once last night, but I'll work on that.

At any rate, I have until the 14th! It's time to take out my camera, bring out my sense of adventure, and enjoy this vacation! ...Of course, I have to wait til a certain someone is done teaching in order to follow up on all of that... but that time will get here.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.007s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0351s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb