The Rock


Advertisement
Published: October 30th 2009
Edit Blog Post

The next day I got up early. Took a trolley (tram) down to fishermen’s wharf to check it out and fill in some time before I took the ferry over to Alcatraz. Was a little cold on the trip over but not too bad? Was an awesome island though. They gave you a listening device which was like a self guided tour through the main cell block. It was good cos you could do it at your own pace and take it all in. Was a little eerie. Made you feel very alone almost, being not only behind bars but also out on a secluded island. A walk that circled the island exposed me to the jaggered coast line, the thrashing and windy San Francisco bay, a beautiful view of the golden gate bridge as well as an appreciation for city landscape before I finally made my way back to the boat. Was a great experience. I dunno what Sean Connery was on about though...I recon I could swim that bay no problem at all. Haha

Back on the mainland and now I was in search of a bike. Sure enough, Fishermans wharf was riddled with suppliers so before long I was zooming along, a smile on my face, the wind in my hair. My sights were on the Golden Gate Bridge, which was a decent ride but nothing to strenuous. A bike path wound its way hugging the shoreline, went over the bridge and then continued along the coast through a small town called Sausalito and beyond. What a great ride. The bridge was everything I had expected. A magnificent piece of engineering that, if you didn’t know, is painted red so that ships can see it even in the densest of fogs that sweep over the SF bay almost every second day. Many different angles and a shitload of photos later I continued down to Sausalito. I am pretty sure I went the wrong way at this point. Ended up riding on the road doing about 70km/h down a hill...no helmet with cars, got the heart racing a bit but we made it. Was a beautiful town. Houses scattered over the hill side and a majestic view of the bay. Was really picturesque. Anyway I got the ferry back to the city just in time to hand the bike back and begin my trek back to the hostel. What a massive day. Was so stuffed. A bit of Chinese for tea and I was back in bed. Not moving.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.153s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0592s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb