San Francisco


Advertisement
Published: October 30th 2009
Edit Blog Post

A cheap united flight (40 bucks) and an hour or so of my time and I land in San Francisco. The original plan was to drive from LA up the coast to San Fran but time restraints meant I would be rushing and by the sounds of it...the drive is so amazing you don’t want to have to rush. I plan to maybe drive back it on the commute back down to LA for when I fly home. Let’s hope I can. Anyway, a train ride in and a 10 min walk up a vertical hill (20kg on my back = pain/sweat) and I arrive at the HI hostel around 2pm on the Monday. Funnily enough who do I run into in the foyer but Geraint. He told me he was going up to San Fran but for whatever reason we didn’t put two and two together. He was just leaving and after a bit of a catch up I decided to check out the hostel and go for a bit of a walk. Now I know I am only a couple of weeks in but this is seriously the best hostel I have ever seen. Movie room, pool table, washing machines, MASSIVE kitchen, heaps of computers, dining room, bar, pancakes for breakfast, as well as the accessibility of everything meant the next 4 days were spent in backpacking luxury. A 2 or so hour stroll through china town and down around the docks established my bearings before I headed back to find some dinner and retire for the night. Realising I had way too much to do in the 3 days I was here meant I had to get up early tomorrow if I was going to see everything. Night night.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.18s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1008s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb