The zoo and seals


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » San Diego
March 4th 2011
Published: March 4th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Museum of Natural HistoryMuseum of Natural HistoryMuseum of Natural History

Museum of Natural History. I chose to park in their lot because I considered my truck would be safer here than in the zoo parking lot. Also I had planned to go to this museum after visiting the zoo. This parking lot is also a good location from which to begin and end a walking tour of Balboa Park and its various museums and the zoo.
San Diego Day 3 - The Zoo and Seals at La Jolla
Went to the Zoo today. Parked by the Museum of Natural History because there were signs in the zoo parking lot to hide your valuables etc out of sight so considered that I would walk to the zoo from there and my truck would be safer in the lot at the Museum of Natural History. In the zoo parking lot a thief can figure you will be gone a long time with your vehicle unattended and it may be hours before the theft is discovered.
I also considered that I could tour the zoo first and then come back to the Natural History Museum and go to it and then be near my truck. As it was the zoo took a long time and was fairly costly so I decided to save the Museum of Natural History for another day.
The Zoo cost $40. For that you get to see the zoo, ride the aerial tram, and take the bus tour of the zoo. I took the bus tour first because that way I could get a quick look over of things and then walk through at my leisure. I got on the top deck so I could see better but should have gotten on the drivers side of the bus as that is the side he pulled up to the exhibits with. Even so there was no prohibition against standing and so I could stand up and see the animals for pictures etc.
After the tour bus and walking around a bit took the aerial tram back to the front of the zoo and walked back to where my truck was. I decided that I would pass on the Museum of Natural History and just drive up the coast. Really wasn't much access to the beaches until I got to La Jolla. There they had some beaches with surfers and some with seals on them. And tons of shops and restaurants.
After touring the beaches drove back to the I-5 and south getting off at Rosecrans street. I have figured out by now that Rosecrans Street and Sports Arena Blvd have most of the "regular" stores and restaurants people eat at as well as a grocery store on Sports Arena Blvd. Also if I go east on Rosecrans and veer right at the "Y" it will feed onto Taylor Street going by "Old Town" and continuing if you go right just before the I-5 will feed onto Hotel Circle South.
Had hoped to wash a few clothes but was annoyed to find out that while the hotel had 3 washers and 3 dryers only one of the dryers worked and as some woman already had 2 washers going it might be a chore to get a dryer especially if someone else shows up. I am the kind of person who if I have to wait will usually just not do something so that was the case here.


Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

MeercatsMeercats
Meercats

The meercats take turns at "sentry" duty lookin out for danger and barking a warning if they see something.
Park at La JollaPark at La Jolla
Park at La Jolla

There was a nice little park at La Jolla with a nice view of the ocean that also had a large group of Seals on the North end of the park.
SealsSeals
Seals

A group of seals on a rock at the North end of the park at La Jolla.


8th March 2011

ZOO
THANK YOU FOR THE TOURS , there are many seals , have a good time there alot to see!!!

Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 5; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0418s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb