Final Days with the Family Onboard . . .


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » San Diego
February 15th 2010
Published: February 22nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

After months of counting down until my family would arrive onboard, already the cruise has come to an end. The last two days of the cruise were sea days. I spent them mostly working, but got some family time squeezed in there.

Uncle Allan, Aunt Renee and Kelsey came to deck party a few nights back. We managed to pull ourselves away from the last part of the opening ceremonies of the Olympics. They’d brought me some Olympic gear from home including the mittens that everyone seems to be wearing there. I help host deck party with the entertainment staff and I wore the mittens for the party!

The second-to-last night onboard, we went to the Steakhouse. The Steakhouse is a reservations only restaurant on some of our ships where the food and service is phenomenal. We went because I said it was an experience they needed to have and to celebrate my birthday. I was so spoiled! They have me a beautiful charm bracelet. Some friends from home had also sent along a birthday gift for me (thank you!!) and I opened them while we waited for our food to arrive. The meal was incredible, as always. For dessert, the servers added a candle on mine.

That same night, after I finished work, Kelsey came along for a big night out with the crew. We went to the crew bar, which was far more exciting at 1am than it was during the day time when I’d shown it to my family before. After the crew bar closed, a group of us headed to the disco for a night of dancing. It was a fun night out and I was really happy to have Kelsey along for the fun.

The last day onboard was really busy with work, but I still had dinner with the family in the dining room. It was Valentine’s Day and so we had special Valentine’s desserts.

Today the family had to debark the ship. I got up early to sit with them up on Lido deck for breakfast and we waited for their turn to debark the ship. Normally, when I’ve had other people cruise with me, this would be when I’d walk them to the gangway and say goodbye. But their flight wasn’t until the next day and I didn’t have to work until sail time so we had time together in San Diego!

After checking them into their hotel, we took a taxi to Balboa Park. The park is so pretty! I love big city parks and this one was great.

We had passes to go to different museums and sites around the park. We first went to the Japanese Friendship Garden. It was small, but nice. Then we went to the photography museum. There were some really interesting pieces there. Our next stop we made at the Science Centre. That was fun, going around and playing with the different exhibits. Our pass included an Imax Movie Ticket, so we watched the next one that was playing. It was good, but all of us were so tired - there may have been some napping with a few of us!

We grabbed lunch at a café inside one of the museums then had went through the San Diego History Museum.

Then it was time for me to get back to the ship. We took a taxi back to the pier and we hugged and said good bye at the ship’s gate. I was so sad to see them go! Back on the ship, I had to work at the water slide and standing up there I kept looking across the street to their hotel and wishing I was there too. But the positive side is that last week I passed the halfway mark of my contract, so it won’t be too much longer before I’m home and will see them again.

This last cruise with the family here has been so wonderful. It was nice to introduce them to my ship world. The ports were a lot of fun. I loved getting some good quality time with them. I've been really lucky.


Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Koi Koi
Koi

In the Japanese Garden, Balboar Park
BambooBamboo
Bamboo

In the Japanese Garden, Balboar Park
Friendship LanternFriendship Lantern
Friendship Lantern

In the Japanese Garden, Balboar Park
Final PhotoFinal Photo
Final Photo

Until Home Anyway!


22nd February 2010

awwww..
Hi Nettie.. Just finished reading your final blog about our family holiday and it's so sweet...I am crying.....LOL You know what a sap I am...;) I have printed your blogs for our keeping. Like always they are amazing and I feel as though I just relived the experience again. You were the perfect hostess. We had the most wonderfully, amazing time with you. I can't thank you enough. This is all Kels is talking about. She was so thrilled to re-connect again with her 'Big' sister. The countdown is on until you are back home...can't wait. I'm already checking out recipes from the ships cookbook. You work with some pretty terrific people..it was great to meet them. Lots of Love from all of us......xo xo xo

Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0379s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb