Californication


Advertisement
Published: May 21st 2009
Edit Blog Post

I think the last time I left off, we had not arrived in San Francisco yet, so I'm going to say we were in Arcata, CA. The next day we drove through more of the Redwoods in California, specifically the Avenue of the Giants, and saw more of the Pacific Coast Highway. I loved it, even though it's the most ridiculous road I've ever been on. It has insane curves and the speed limit is super slow for the most part, with good reason. Who builds a road on a cliff with no guard rails? Kind of nauseating.

I fell asleep in the car on the way to San Francisco, and didn't realize that I dropped my camera under the front car seat. Needless to say, I didn't get any pictures of the Golden Gate Bridge. Oh well. It was really foggy anyway. Drove around San Francisco, saw Haight Ashbury, Lombard Street, AT&T Park where the Giants Play, etc. I would definitely like to go back to that city again. Once we left San Francisco, we went to Stanford where we stayed with Henri's friend Illana. She was really cool, and Stanford is a gorgeous place. The Mexican restaurant we ate in on campus even had pupusas, which are my favorite.

We left Stanford the next morning, and went to Hearst Castle. We wanted to go up to actually see the Castle, but we would've had to wait like 2 hours for a tour, so that wasn't going to happen. It was really cool to see though, even from far away. We left there and continued on our way to Los Angeles. I stopped at a fruit stand and got fresh nectarines and they were incredible. So much better than the crap from Pathmark. Apparently there was another earthquake in LA yesterday, but I think we were too far away to feel it, plus it was pretty tiny. Arrived at Henri's uncles' apartment in Studio City, went to get gellato with one of his uncles, and we got to see where Robert Blake had his wife killed haha. Interesting stuff. Got back to the apartment, and left for the Dodgers game! Dodger's Stadium is SO NICE, and even though our seats were in the top deck, we were still right behind home plate so we had a great view. The Dodger Dogs are by far the best hot dogs I've ever had at a ballpark before. The Mets lost because they suck, but it was still a lot of fun. Oh, and my sighting of a semi-famous person was seeing WHITNEY PORT at the Dodgers game. Don't be fooled people, this girl clearly is back in LA and not where she belongs, aka the city. I don't care if she's just visiting haha. This morning we had breakfast at Du-Par's, which was absolutely delicious. Then we went out and did typical touristy things in LA.

Left LA, and made a mandatory stop in Laguna Beach because come on now, who doesn't want to stop there. Plus, I promised Lauren I'd take pictures and try to stalk out Stephen. Unsuccessful. Went down on the beach where the water was BEAUTIFUL--I seriously would have gone swimming if I was better prepared. Left Laguna, drove down the Pacific Coast Highway to San Diego and went to Coronado Island. Got to see the Hotel Del Coronado which is absolutely stunning. One day I'll have enough money to stay there. I went and frolicked on the beach by myself because someone is a baby and doesn't like beaches (I know, WTF), then we snuck into the hotel by following some people in through the door that said "Guests Only". Sick place.

Left the Hotel del Coronado and went to the KOA in Chula Vista. The people that work here are super friendly and the grounds are really nice, so if anybody ever decides they want to camp near San Diego, go here. Set up the tent, had dinner at Outback, and now I'm back here writing this blog because this KOA has free wireless. Tomorrow we head for Vegas to stay with Henri's brother. Pretty awesome that I'll be a 20 11/12 year old in Vegas. Whatever, I'm still really excited to see everything. Let's hope I sleep for more than 40 minutes tonight.

Heading back on the journey East tomorrow, and I have to say that I'm more than excited.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.12s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0726s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb