Californniiaaaa


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Arcata
May 18th 2009
Published: May 18th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Sorry I suck at updating this. Last time I updated I think we were in Montana. I forgot to mention that something I found extremely interesting in South Dakota was that at every point there was a fatal car accident on the highway, there was a sign that said something along the lines of "Think Don't Die". It was so bizarre.

Saw Yellowstone again, got to see Old Faithful! It was exciting. Everyone should see that at some point in their life.

Once in Idaho, we saw the Craters of the Moon National Monument. There used to be some volcanic activity here and the lava that cooled seriously makes this area look like you're on the moon. We climbed up what used to be a cone from a volcano. Stayed at a motel in Idaho, I wasn't feeling very well so I'm pretty sure I went to bed at 8pm. The change in time zones throws me off a lot, as well as moving around so much.

Drove out to Oregon to see Crater Lake, had a minor gas mishap, so we skipped seeing it last night and instead just went to the place we were camping. Set up the tent, had some food at Applebee's (which was one of the first actual meals I've had in a while), then went back to the tent and just hung out. I slept terribly in the tent but that's because my back has been hurting from being in the car a lot I think. It was still cool though, and I was proud of myself for setting up the tent so easily.

Saw Crater Lake this morning, it was really, really cool. For those of you who don't know, it's the deepest lake in the country. Used to be a volcano but then it collapsed in on itself and formed this lake.

Left Crater Lake, drove into California while listening to cliche music about the state. Driving down 101 along the coast, driving through Redwood National Park. Stopped at one point so I could put my feet in the Pacific Ocean since I've never been able to do that. Now we're in Arcata, CA, which is really kind of a strange place but whatever. I had pizza and it was garbage. Now I'm watching the Mets, they're playing in San Francisco and it's cool that I'm watching them play in SF and it's also light out where I'm watching them.

Tomorrow we're driving down the coast, stopping in San Fran at some point. I think we're staying with Henri's friend at Stanford but I don't actually know. I'm just looking forward to the Mets game in LA on the 19th.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0355s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb