......


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » San Diego
February 17th 2009
Published: February 22nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

How many people have I stayed with so far.....
2 in Austin. 2 in San Antonio. And I'm at my 2nd in San Diego.
And how many of those 6 haven't been amazing?
One.

-Tally of things I've lost so far-
1 hoodie
1 glasses case
2 juggling balls
1 rubber band
1 Catch-22
1 1967 Kodak mechanical camera (only a temporary loss. I have it back now)

-Tally of things gained so far-
1 hair tie
1 copy of the 2006 Crew Change Directory
1 CD of the Tallest Man on Earth and Bon Iver
1 new hand-made hoodie
2 new juggling balls
1 bottle of baking soda
1 hand-made pouch for small items in my backpack


I'm staying with Dan, an older guy who is pretty impressive, I gotta say. His "projects" include creating a robot designed to eliminate landmines in third-world countries, creating an NGO to help humanitarian workers in Afghanistan, and forming a green technology trade organization between the US and Brazil. And he hosts travelers in his spare time. He's skyping right now... ehhh.... yea... in Spanish. I hate skype.

I almost died running across a freeway will all my gear on my back today. That was exciting. Kind of wish I didn't have to spend two more weeks in San Diego. There's not much of an activist scene it seems. No bikes. Couldn't find any fire spinners. No vegan couchsurfers... I'm sure the 2 weeks will go fast anyways though. Really tired. Probably malnourished. Really want to do a lot of yoga soon. And meditate.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0361s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb