Do you have Jesus in Switzerland?


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » San Diego
November 15th 2008
Published: November 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

We're living a few miles north of downtown San Diego, so I occasionally use the local bus service to get around.

You always find some, errm, unusual characters on buses but Southern California has to outdo most. Here are a couple of the more notable ones I managed to capture using my phone camera...

The Preacher

You can't see his face, but he caught my attention at the bus stop with his full beard, wraparound sunglasses and overflowing shopping trolley.

To give an idea of where I am coming from, the shopping trolley is to the American homeless person what a small dog is to the average Big Issue seller.

But no, this guy fishes around in his bag and pulls out a bible. Nothing wrong with that, until he starts preaching! I couldn't hear most of what he was saying though because of the loud air conditioning on the bus.

The Musician

I guess it was inevitable to find someone with a guitar. Except this guy was singing as well as playing. Beats an iPod I suppose?

We have also encountered someone claiming to be Barack Obama (I don't think it was), a man who sat on the trolley swearing at everyone in his vicinity, and overheard someone asking a fellow passenger "Do you have Jesus in Switzerland?".

And you wonder why people drive everywhere...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 15; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0232s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1023.4kb