Mostly Sunny


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » San Diego
January 17th 2008
Published: April 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

DowntownDowntownDowntown

Arriving in San Diego, on the 992 bus

After having spent three days in the metro Phoenix AZ area to catch up with old friends, tour the Glendale area, run the PF Chang Rock N Roll 1/2 marathon, and watch the Giants defeat the Cowboys, I looked forward to my first flight on Southwest for my first visit to San Diego. Upon arrival, I approached the airport information center for easiest way to get to the Little Italy part of downtown. The lady behind the counter not only told me which bus route to take, but walked me to the bus stop to make sure I got on the right one. Reminded me of Mom seeing me off on my first school bus ride! ANYWAY, for future reference, take the 992 which only costs $2.25. I got off at Broadway and India and walked 8 blocks on a slight incline north to La Pensione Hotel, which gratefully allowed me to check in early. The walk was longer than expected and I was still a bit sore from the Phoenix run... but, hey, the weather was pleasant and a bit cool, yet comfortable... and mostly sunny.

I didn't rent a car given higher gas prices in California so
San Diego ZooSan Diego ZooSan Diego Zoo

On the Old Town Trolley Tour
I relied on mass transit to get around town. For the Old Town Trolley Tour, I walked to the Gaslamp area. During the tour, you have options of hop off at any one of a few stops. I chose to walk around Old Town only. Given another opportunity, I would've spent more time walking around Coronado and Balboa Park. Another way to familiarize yourself with the neighborhoods is to take the trolleys. $5 buys you a one-day pass to use the Blue, Green, and Orange lines as often as you'd like.

Regarding the hotels, I stayed at La Pensione for one night. Hotel rate was excellent value and room was no frills. There was a fan but no A/C which wasn't a big deal given the cooler weather. I spent the next two days at the Sofia Hotel on Broadway, which bordered the Gaslamp Quarter. They were overbooked my first day there; otherwise, I would've spent all three nights there.

One observation: there are lots of transients in San Diego... which makes perfect sense. They leave you alone as far as I can tell, but I wonder why more haven't migrated there. Warm weather, plenty of room in Balboa Park to set up camp.




Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Old TownOld Town
Old Town

Enjoying a hot Mexican breakfast... and 2 complimentary glasses of champagne?!?


Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 15; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0234s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb