Back to Bulacan


Advertisement
Philippines' flag
Asia » Philippines » Bulacan
December 3rd 2007
Published: April 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Sta Maria houseSta Maria houseSta Maria house

Yeah, I used to sleep in the room on the 2nd floor of this building... before it was gutted and improved.
I lived in the Philippines from late 1997 to early 1999. Forever grateful to family hospitality, I initially stayed with relatives in Alabang, then with cousins in QC, before ultimately winding up in Sta Maria, Bulacan - home base of my mother's side of the family. My father's side is based in Bigaa, now Balagtas.

Bulakenos (natives/residents of the Bulacan province) are known for their linguistic knowledge of the Tagalog language. Like any other area of the Philippines, you can tell who has more money than others. Yet, the ones who are not as well off are smiling just as much as the next person. Men wore white t-shirts, jeans, and tsinelas (flip-flops). Every morning, all are drinking buko (coconut) juice. Every afternoon, many are snacking on their first order of pulutan (pub food). Every night, well, there's Macarthur Highway. When I lived in Bulacan, I tried hard to fit in with the simple wardrobe, but for the fact I was about one foot taller than everyone else kind of made it hard... that and my "am-boy" accent. But, Bulacan is where I learned conversational Tagalog.

Given it's been more than eight years since I lived in Bulacan, I was very impressed with the improvements (i.e. commercialization), e.g. traffic is not as gnarly given ongoing public works/highway projects, paved roads, construction of MORE malls. Fireworks remains big business in Bocaue, churches and schools are still thriving...

Evidently, trike drivers in Barangay Catmon, Malolos are not familiar with the BarCIE Hotel in Bgy Catmon, Malolos. Apparently, you have to ask for the University of Regina Carmelina (URC) as the hotel is located within its campus. We were in Bulacan for Aunt Goring's 80th birthday fest. Great time indeed!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Mom's side of the familyMom's side of the family
Mom's side of the family

Mom's siblings, cousins, nieces, nephews, etc (not all are represented)


Tot: 0.141s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0526s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb