San Diego, California


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » San Diego
October 3rd 2007
Published: October 3rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

September 4 - 8, 2007



Although I've been to San Diego many times before, this is my first time as an adult staying in a nice hotel and bringing my camera along. Again I was there on business, but had a small amount of time to myself. This trip there was no Sea World or Wild Animal Park, but I did enjoy my time on the harbor in Mission Bay.

I had a room with a balcony at the Hyatt Regency Mission Bay (formerly known as the Hyatt Islandia). My room had a little living room area with a couch and a nice TV. My first day there I went for a casual walk around the harbor and stretched the legs of my camera a little. I then ordered room service and watched TV in my "living room."

The next morning we had breakfast at a little restaurant that is part of the hotel, but right on the harbor as well. The weather was beautiful! After breakfast and a break to hang out back in our rooms, we met with our team for lunch at McCormick and Schmicks. I'd never ordered fish tacos before, so like a moron I thought the fish would be just loose on the tortilla, you know, like chicken, but instead it was deep-fried. I don't eat deep-fried food, so I didn't enjoy it, but everyone else said their meals were great. Afterwards we did a team scavenger hunt all around downtown and the gaslamp district. So much fun! I've never spent time down in the gaslamp district, I really enjoyed seeing so many cafes and pubs! We got to see Petco Park and a 360 degree view of the city from the top of one of the hotels. The scavenger hunt was a lot of fun and we really got around the city on foot, which is the best way to sightsee.

After the hunt we met at a Mediterranean Restaurant downtown for drinks and dinner. I can't recall the name of it, but the food was phenomenal! I had a pork tenderloin over cheesy risotto with asparagus and a pomegranate reduction sauce. So amazing!!

The following day we went to have lunch down in Pacific Beach at Tony Roma's. Not my fave choice - icky food unless you get ribs, which there is no way I was going to order those after I pigged out the night before. Lunch was nice and I got to see a few minutes of the beach before heading back to work. That night, after setting up a bit for Saturday, I met Tressa and Aaron at their apartment right down in the gaslamp district for some beers at a pub and then some yummy sushi. The gaslamp district is PACKED at night. There are people all up and down every street and at every bar and restaurant. It is such a fun place with a great vibe.

I spent the remainder of my two days there working 18 hour days so I didn't get much more time to enjoy myself. But I took some nice pictures!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.131s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0478s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb