The Bunkers


Advertisement
Published: May 2nd 2012
Edit Blog Post

This really is not a travel blog. Today, for example, I went nowhere that anyone would be interested in. E says I could make some restaurant recommendations. True. So if you are looking for a good taco, Bob’s Twin Kitchen on Jackson in Indio. The service is slow. The people are usually pretty nice but they don’t always get your order right. The place is very small and you don’t want to eat in Bob’s – go with take out. The neighbourhood looks shady but seems pretty safe. If you are female, don’t wear a dress there. But the tacos are excellent!

Today I scrubbed cabinets. Inside and out. For hours. I don’t do this much housework in my own house forget about on vacation! It does look good. So the reward was 3 hours at the pool while E golfed. And I have decided that I will wear a bikini to try to get a good wedding tan. I am way too old for the bikini. I’ve lost my mind and my modesty. Fortunately it is a little cooler here today (87 degrees) so there is only one older woman at the pool. She loves the bikini! Says I have a cute figure. Haha. All women over 80 say this to me. So we chat in the pool for a bit then she has to go home for dinner (it’s 3:30pm) but first must wash her hair at the outdoor shower? So I settle into a lounger at the corner of the pool. I’m the only one there for some time. Then another woman comes in. I’m lying on my front with the top undone. She takes one look at me and heads to the other side of the pool! She stays an hour and then leaves. A couple comes in and does the same thing! I’ve somehow become the pool tart. Or Chippy as my mom would say! Who knew a bikini could repel people like this. And since I really am not that social, I’m seeing some positives here. I really can only pull the bikini off if I hold completely still. Any movement and the gig is up.

Yesterday E and I were driving to the mall. Lately his driving has been suspect. He’s thinking about too many things and driving isn’t one of them. So I’m trying to ‘help’ by navigating. Let’s just say that he needed lots of help to get us to the mall. Then he’s going down a parking row in the wrong direction, which I kindly point out. Or so I thought. He called me Edith, followed by an impersonation. Edith! If that means that he is Archie, might not be so far off. A little later in the evening, as I am driving home, he starts a conversation with ‘I know I shouldn’t say this but…’ followed by a reminder of probably my 2nd worse hotel booking! Out of the blue he drags this up from January? I guess going by all the nice resort hotels in Rancho Mirage reminded him of the night I booked us into ‘the best hotel in Indio’. Sorry, motel… Similar to the best hotel in Westfort. When we get home, he finally figures out that I was shopping for a dress to wear to Little Lou’s wedding. Really? I’ve been shopping for this dress for days now, and just now you figure out it’s my bridesmaid dress? How could you not have known that? I've been talking about it for weeks! Why else would I be looking for a floor length gown? I went to Dessert Bridal, what else would I be doing there? OK, maybe a bit Edith…

Advertisement



3rd May 2012

cute
lol! a quick read of your blog made me giggle. keep rockin the bikini!!

Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0509s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb