36 hours to go!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Orange County » Irvine
December 21st 2005
Published: December 22nd 2005
Edit Blog Post

Welcome!

The mere fact that I'm able to take the time to set this up should tell you that I've got prepartions pretty much under control. Well, that and the fact that I'm not moving off my couch a whole lot right now as I wrap up my bout of Influenza A. My timing is, as ever, well conceived.

To make sure we're all on the same figurative page, I'm traveling with my dear friend Athena as part of a 12 person group organized by Intrepid Travel. So...for future reference, when I use "we" I mean us...er, Athena and I. :-) Unless I mean something else.... :-)

For those of you for whom I've not bragged about our itinerary to, here it is:

December 25-26 Bangkok Between the chaotic city streets and serene canals, explore the different parts of this lively capital. We head off in a longtail boat to Wat Po, home of the magnificent reclining Buddha and keeper of the magic behind Thai massage.

December 27 Kanchanaburi Visit the Jeath War Museum and see the 'Bridge on the River Kwai' before heading to Erawan National Park for a swim in the seven-tiered waterfall.

December 28 -29 Chao Phraya River Laze on the deck of our award-winning converted teak rice barge, pedal through the Thai countryside and explore the World Heritage-listed ruins of Ayuthaya.

December 30 - 31 Chiang Mai The temple of Doi Suthep provides an excellent view and a little exercise, while the night market is fun and a great place to sample local food. Enjoy an elephant ride, take the chance to cool off in the freshwater river or indulge in a traditional Thai massage.

January 1 Village Homestay Staying in a local home offers us the privilege of experiencing quiet village life for a day, living as the locals do, complete with a traditional northern Thai khantoke dinner and dance performance presented by the school children of the village.

January 2-4 Hilltribe Trek Trek for three days through remote hilltribe villages and experience the diversity of local customs and traditions, staying overnight in simple hilltribe huts.

January 5-6 Golden Triangle From our base in Chiang Rai, a visit to the colourful border town of Mae Sai is a great way to explore the infamous opium growing Golden Triangle region. Check out the Opium Museum or experience a fast boat ride down the Mekong River.

January 7-8 Bangkok Another full day in Bangkok completes our exciting adventure, with many places like the extensive weekend Chatuchak Market still left to explore.

Of course, we also return on January 8 - the International Date Line is horribly confusing! :-) So far, Intrepid Travel has impressed us with their organization and communication - so even without getting on the plane, we're impressed.

Okay...while typing, I've generated a list of 12 things that I still need to do tonight, including take my next dose of TamiFlu. So, I'll end this here with a final note....I look forward to your comments and staying in touch throughout this adventure!

Save and happy holidays to all!
Christine




Advertisement



Tot: 0.19s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0572s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb