My Annual Dubs Trek


COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Oakland
March 12th 2019
Saved: June 10th 2020
Edit Blog Post

Once a year, I pony up the greenbacks to attend a Golden State Warrior game at Oracle Arena in Oakland. Curiously, I wonder how much the tickets will be next year at the new Chase Center in China Basin?



I have a difficult time understanding how people can afford tickets, much less season tickets. I will not say how much we paid for the seats, but I have seen one way flights to Europe for less! So, I only go to one game a year, with my buddy, Big Bob. I watch the rest on TV.



I became a Warrior fan back in the 60s. My first NBA game was probably the best game I have ever seen. Why? Our Dubs, with Wilt Chamberlain, played the multi time world champion Boston Celtics, led by local legend and Hall of Famer, Bill Russell.



Fast forward to the 1974-75 season when I went to many games, both regular season and playoffs. How? Nobody wanted to go back then, so season ticket holders would give the playoff tickets to us at no charge!



Fast forward again to today, and I just told you how much the tickets cost. Parking is about another $25. Add food and a beer for two guys, another $50 each. Now my total expenditure is nearing a car payment for most people!!! My sister and her husband are season ticket holders. They are three sections away, so maybe we will see them?



But what the heck, these are the Dubs, who have won three of the last four NBA titles. How much longer can the dynasty last? Just last Tuesday night, the Dubs lost by over 30 points to the bickering Celtics from Baaahston. This might be the last hurrah!



So, I will wear what few Warrior goods that I own, a shirt and a cap. Maybe this will be the last game, maybe not. Is the excitement of being at the game worth the hassle and the cost? Sometimes. Maybe driving to Sacrament or LA would be future options.



Only you can decide. As for me, this might be it.


BTW, the Dubs drubbed the Denver Nuggets!


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader_blog_bottom



Comments only available on published blogs

Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0392s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb