Red wine, fine weather and some retail therapy


Advertisement
Published: July 29th 2010
Edit Blog Post

As I write I am in the town of Calistoga. It is at the very end of the Napa Valley. But before I tell you about it let me back track.

Thanks for the well wishes after being sick and paying a fortune to get better! I am now several days later starting to feel normal again but am still taking antibiotics to kill off nay remaining bug that could possibly spoil the rest of my holiday be assured!

We had 2 huge driving days. So from Williams we drove up past Las Vegas and right up to the side of Death Valley and stayed in the smallest town called Beatty. It is about 10 miles from Death Valley. Ma, you will be pleased to hear we took your advice and stayed in our first Motel 6. Cheap and good. Just great for a stop off night. Nothing to do here except stay rthe night and prepare for a big drive the next day.

We started early and drove through Death Valley. We dropped several thousand feet to the bottom which is at sea level. So damn hot that when I got out of the car to take photos of the unbelieveable sand dunes in the middle, the sand burned my toes through my open toed shoes, so I quickly got back in the car and took a photo out of the window! It seems so bizarre to have massive sand dunes in the middle of a velley with no water in sight.

We then climbed hard to 5000 feet in the car and down the next part of the Valley. We came out of the dessert at Lone Pine and then travelled on to Yosemite. We entered the park at 10,000 feet and drove right through on the Tioga pass. This is partially closed in winter as you can imagine at that level it is deep in snow. The drive through Yosemite was unbelieveable and the highlight of my trip so far. Huge rock faces with random tress growing, large rocks and boulders everywhere and gorgeous lakes and streams.

We then travelled to a small town called Sonara and old gold mine town where they made the movie Unforgiven.

From there we came to Napa. This place is just beautiful and I am glad to say the temp has returned to a manageble temp and sunny and lovely. We have tasted some great red, including Zinfandel which I am converted to! Tomorrow we head to San Francisco. I must off as am running out of computer time. Will write again soon.


Advertisement



29th July 2010

Hello
hi there all sounds great-except the heat!!! and glad tohear you feeling better- i can recommend some pretty good anti-nausea drups if you need them !!!! take care D and R
1st August 2010

thanks
HI there, Debra hope you are doing well. Have thought of you as we travel around. Focus on Bathhurst!!! Take care of your self xx

Tot: 0.148s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0402s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb