Hasta Luego Senorita SF


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Mount Shasta
November 29th 2007
Published: November 30th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday our USA road trip across country from San Francisco back to the east coast kicked off. Jason, Talula, and I started out heading up to Weed, California just north of Mt. Shasta. The drive unfortunately began later in the afternoon and most of the 4 hour drive was in the dark. We stopped 80 miles in at the Pilot Gas Station and I was excited to see gas as low as $3.29. I always find large gas stations with shops fascinating. This one in particular was huge- selling music cd's to donuts to teddy bears. The stations bathroom, which is usually not my point of interest on a trip, had an interesting feature for the weary traveler.

Has anyone ever seen a cologne vending machine? Well my friends, stop by this Pilot Gas Station and you can "Feel Fantastic at a Touch" and "Refresh Yourself" with an assortment of fragrances such as Obsession. Sadly, I have no image to show. I really didn't think it would have been a good idea to enter a restroom with a camera of tired peeing truck drivers. And I didn't stick around to see how it worked.

We finally arrived at the Motel 6 destination at around 11 at night- starving for some substance. Of course everything was closed in the small town of Weed, but down the road I drove to the local Shell station in hopes of hot dogs and nachos. Granted I agreed with Jason that we would eat only salad and drink water for the trip, but I felt desperate. Unfortunately, or I guess fortunately depending on how you look at it, the hot dog warmer was empty and unplugged, and the nacho cheese dispenser was fresh out. I was forced to give up my idea, and instead grabbed two "Lunchables" and a small bag of Honey BBQ Doritos. Not really a healthy substitute from the original idea, but it worked.

I feel asleep to the sounds of the "You Tube" republican debates.

In the morning I woke up freezing. Living in SF for over a year I have become accustomed to mild weather. I have not seen my breathe in a long time and it was strange to see my car frosted over. Jason pointed out the "Non-Smoking" ash tray in the room. I am not really sure why you would even provide the ashtray with a non-smoking sticker.

Since it was dark when we arrived I had no idea that Mt. Shasta was looming so close in the distance. Covered in clouds and peaked with snow, it was a pleasant surprise in the morning. If only I had more time in this area to explore the town of Mt. Shasta and more of Weed, but it was off to Portland and we was on a schedule. If you are in Weed, I would recommend going to a small cafe called Ellie's, a cute bakery and sandwich shop. I had a kick ass Mt. Shasta bagel melt.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



2nd December 2007

my goodness
i haven't heard about mt. shasta in years! um, i forgot to ask you before you left, but would you pick me up a snowglobe from somewhere along your travels. make it small, trashy and under five dollars. thank you my love!

Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 40; dbt: 0.0457s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb