A day around Monterey.


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Monterey
December 10th 2008
Published: December 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Seals in...Seals in...Seals in...

Monterey.
Monterey, 08-11-2002.



I wake up to a persistent knocking on my motel door. There is another serious knocking in my head, the sort of knocking caused by hard boozing.

Sh*t, if this is that good for nothing indian receptionist with a cup of that dark brown brakkish hot water he's the nerves to call coffee I'll certainly loose my already tested to the limit patience with him.

But no, it is Charly The Truck Guy beaming enormous smiles at me. He seems less affected by all the big martinis he and Louise, his brittish girlfriend, drank with me last night at their house.

He wants to know if I'm ready for breakfast, ready for a ride through Monterey in his truck... seems fair enough...a good way to start the day...I seem to remember they promised me a new bike last night but decide not to mention it, they have been kind enough to me as it is already taking me out for dinner last night, taking me back to their place and feeding me these hard to digest martinis.

Monterey is a lovely city with countless adobe buildings, the bay an enormous body of water full with playfull dolfins, seals, sea lions and even elefant seals. Out at sea I can see pelicans diving into the water in their special own pelican way.

The coastal scenery is spectacular. The salty smell of the air mixed with the strong smell of rotting kelp.

Charly seems to like giving me not just a tour around Monterey but also giving me a broad scala of info on Monterey.

Late afternoon he wants to take me back to his place telling me I've been invited by his girlfriend for dinner, tells me they wanna introduce me to Pete, a friend of theirs who has also been invited and lives up north on the way to San Francisco.

He laso wanna show me the bike they have for me pareked in their shed....that I can have free of charge so I can continue my way of north.

I'm a bit overwhelmed by all this. I mean I hardly know these people but they seem so keen to help me out here.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.197s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 22; qc: 76; dbt: 0.159s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb