A score to settle with an indian receptionist.


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Monterey
December 9th 2008
Published: December 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

A note...A note...A note...

from the Truck Guy.
Monterey, late afternoon.



Once Charly The Truck Guy has left the motel he brought me too, I leave my room and walk over to the reception which is manned by an indian.

I've a certain principle to settle here. Every time on this trip I slept in a motel I had to pay 10/15 green backs more as the sign outside would advertise, or at the very least in these motels manned by indians. Their free coffee is sh*t and the service sloppy, noicy neighbors that seem to rent the rooms by the hour. And then on top of that I get ripped off by the indian staff.....no way!!!

"Sign old, mister. Not 29.95 dollar but 39.95 dollar now, sahip" the desk clerk tells me with his old colonial indian english. "F*ck it, phone the sherriff now". ......Ten american green backs appear miraculously from under the counter upon hearing the word SHERRIFF.

Hehehe, that was the way I handled these rip-off artists in India and now I know how to take care of that little problem here in California.

Old ways die hard, I guess......



some hours later.


Seals in ...Seals in ...Seals in ...

Monterey.

Despite the death of my steel old grand ma which is resting peachfully outside my room against the wall recovering from a painfull death, I feel quite content lying on my motel's double bed watching telly and with a huge fried chicken from the Wallmart waiting to be consumed, four big half liter cans of dutch Heineken beer icing in my fridge.

I'm considering whether or not to buy a new back tyre tomorrow when "KNOCK, KNOCK, KNOCK" it goes on my door.

Has the indian receptionist send over a pr*stitute hoping to skim off some of the money I'll have to pay her? Wouldn't surprise me.....But no it's the Truck Guy and his lady-friend. I found his note on the door when I return from the Wallmart.

The wanna take me out to dinner, they tell me they even have a new bike for me, maybe a drink at their place after dinner.

Can't believe how well people have been to me on this trip....american policies stink but the locals are NUMERO UNO as far as I'm concerned.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.189s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 74; dbt: 0.1526s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb