Bon voyage through Suzy's eyes...


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Los Angeles
October 1st 2012
Published: October 6th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Our dear friend Suzy graciously spent the remaining hours in the States with us before we took off on our adventure. We were giddy, excited, and slightly buzzed. This is what Suzy experienced.... It's pretty spot on. Thank you Suzy for this "guest blog" gem. Wish you were here!

The take off.... as I saw it....
I walked down the street to meet up with my two giddy friends about to set spiritual sail on a trip to Thailand. They were having dinner at the Italian hole in the wall next to the 711, drinking wine they brought with them, sharing dishes and laughter, with one stipulation - "if your fork touches meat, you can't put it back in the shared dish" Lindsay schooled me on the ettiquet of how to dine with a vegetarian. "Yep! Thats right! No Double dipping!" Kemper crusaded, as she piled up a bite from her plate.
It occurred to me at one point - well - when kemper started talking about how she can't wait to get her stripy leggings off and Lindsay was pontificating airplane toilets - that these two ladies may or may not have already taken their anxiety medication for the plane.... just a few hours too early.
We talked and laughed and dished on our lives with abandon. I knew I was in company where I could be myself - and rely on them to set me straight if need be. It seemed that they both had very strong opinions on my bikini waxing...I'll just leave it at that.
I think my laughter disrupted the table behind us.
We finished off the bottle of wine, paid the check and scoured around 711 as they anticipated the parasite ladden meals they may encounter overseas. I think Kemper bought enough protein bars to have one every day for her trip.
And back at Lindsay's house, as both Lindsay and Kemper waltzed around pantless (?) I tried on their backpacks to make sure they would be okay to carry these things for miles.
Kemper stopped, "did you try mine on?" she said, pulling hers over her shoulders and locking it around her waist.
"I did. And your backpack and your purse. Smart packing. Little heavy, but good. "
Lindsay appeared in a rather short shirt, dancing her way into the room.
"What about mine?" she asked.
"Your back pack is very heavy - you have, like, a library in there." I said.
She frowned, "I have airplane snacks." (she had about six books)
okayyyyy.... I gave her a look. She had more than six books in her backpack.
"Here, put this in your bag." Lindsay handed Kemper a bag of pretzels like it was gonna make a difference.
"I'm just thinking, I don't know how you travel but if you're hoping busses and walking five miles and getting on another shitty bus and walking again and it turns into a day and a half traveling expedition..."
Kemper and Lindsay looked at me like I wasn't speaking English.
"I...I don't plan on walking five miles with this. It's drop and go, drop and go.." Kemper looks at Lindsay, boping up and down with rythm, "drop and go..."
"I don't know, we'll figure it out." Lindsay says - as she turns around, "Hey, do you have a glue gun?"
"Um..." I thought for a minute, "maybe in my garage or living room somewhere..?" I said, worried there was some kind of last minute fix needed, "why?"
"I was just asking bc I have a glue gun mat." she said, walking back into her room.
HAHAHA. what the hell....
Kemper, takes the lead into the center of her room, still pantless... wearing all of her bags - huge travel back pack, little back pack, purse, travel pillow.
"Uh - Yea - Check Out These Dance Moves! Uh - Yea - ..." she does something between the michael jackson slide and the pink panther walk.
Yep this is pretty much how the best evenings ever start out.
Kemper demonstrated just how mobile she was with her backpack, busting out moves- between salsa, the macarena, and that one move where you pretend to reel in a fish from far away.
"Wow - wow - wow.." she caught herself before tipping backwards, "can't lean too far back with this sucker.." she said, regaining her balance and straightening out her shirt.
"Maybe I should go like this. " she said looking down at her bottom half.
"Well ...... you'd get through security pretty easily.. because you're... naked...?" I said.
"HA." she laughed, but actually considered it.
Lindsay was wondering around somewhere else in her house, still bottomless as well. Maybe doing some last minute crafting.
"Alright I'm going to get the car, I'll be right back." I stood up and left the two half naked ladies that were now outside on Lindsay's patio. - I think Kemper may have still been wearing the backpack and no pants.
The drive to the airport was not any less interesting.
"Hey, do you poop on planes?" Lindsay whispered to Kemper.
"No." she said.
"Well I'm going to." Lindsay said back.
"I don't sit on the seat, "
Kemper said, "I pooped at your house."
"I don't sit on the seat!" Lindsay exclaimed.
"Wait - what! Am I not suppose to sit on your seat? I thought it was safe territory. You know how I feel about toilets!"
"No! You can sit on my seat!!"
"Okay, fewf." Kemper had her hand on her chest, relieved.
"Do you think they clean the bathrooms in the middle of the flight?" Lindsay wondered outloud.
I actually thought about it for a second, "No. I don't think they clean the bathroom mid-air, no."
Lindsay seemed disappointed.
"Alright ladies." I pulled up to the curb and put the emergency lights on.
They loaded up their bags onto their backs, Kemper still doing some kicks, this time with stripy leggings on. And I hugged and kissed them goodbye, "be safe," i told them, "if anything happens I'll come get you." I said, and I meant it.
As I watched them walk away I felt such celebration for their journey ahead. These were the two hardest working, loyal and smart women that I have in my life. I couldn't imagine two people that deserved this trip more. And I was grateful for the few hours of pre-flight that made me feel like I was on the trip with them.
xoxo

Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0497s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb