Universal Studios - LA


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Los Angeles
August 12th 2008
Published: August 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Universal Studios: I have been to this place 4 times now. And I'll probably go there again. I love movies and I love everything that goes around movies.

Staying can be pretty expensive if you decide to stay at the Sheraton or any of the hotels around the Studios. I think I paid 240 a night but its worth it. I hate driving in LA and when on vacation, I hate driving - period.

Plan for a whole day with an early start. My favorite is the Studio Tour. This trolley takes you through sets and the history is quite significant. Its fun recognizing props and sets from movies you have seen. The War of the Worlds set is truly spectacular. There's a ripped up Boeing 747 there and the attention to detail is quite staggering. I noticed a doll lying on the ground with just the right amount of charring to indicate it had survived a crash.

There are rides for the ride crazy - and all the shows are well executed. For sheer stunts - you must visit the sets of WaterWorld, the Kevin Costner flick. And the pets parade is quite something to watch.

Hang out at the Hard Rock Cafe when done - and a few souveniors later, you should be done with a touristy but different vacation.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0477s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb