Where is home exactly?


Advertisement
Published: May 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I wanted to write one last blog as a final closing to my trip to Africa. I waited this long because I wanted to reflect on my transitioning back into life here in LA and how God has continued to change my heart while being here.

Coming back was decently easy. I guess you could say that it takes some time for me to actually feel most things. I get emotional quick but it took me three years before I really felt the weight of my father dying and now it has taken me three weeks to feel the weight of missing Africa.

The director of the ministry in Tanzania was in a horrible car accident. He was taking his son to school on his motorcycle and was hit on the right side by a taxi driver. He fractured his leg and has already received surgery. Which alone is a miracle because of the slow pace that Africa lives on. He is in a hospital that is a 3 hour bus ride away from his home and his wife is making the trip at least once a week so she can be a wife and mother. Hearing of this makes my heart long to be back with my friends and family in Africa.

I have been burdened of heart as to where God is taking me. Daily He keeps reminding me that He has brought me back to LA for a reason and to lean on Him to take care of the details. Yesterday my pastor taught on James and he spoke of giving compassion to people that are suffering even if it's their own decision to live that way. God spoke to my heart about Sarafina's mom and the anger I harbored in my heart for her because she was continuing to have babies with the knowledge that she was giving them HIV. I didn't extend the compassion that she needed. It's lessons like this that I know God has brought me here to reflect and learn so when He does take me back out to the field, I will be more effective to the people I come across.

I am currently looking around for a new job and am praying over if God is taking me into ministry or to continue working where I am. I want God's direction in my life and nothing less. I do know that He is taking me the path that He has laid out for me. I want to learn to be patient and to get rid of my anxiety.

I have enjoyed talking to you guys about my trip and the changes that God has done in my life and faith. I uploaded some more photos of my trip and you can view them below! I hope to be writing of my next missions trip soon!!!



Album 1

Album 2

Album 3




Advertisement



21st May 2008

Welcome Back!!!!
It was so good to see you again Sabrina. We could see that God has matured you so much and we are blessed to see His work in your life!! Stay close to Him!! Thank you so much for the gifts!! We love them! We love you!!! : - )

Tot: 0.15s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 15; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0514s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb