To be alive and full of the Spirit.


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Los Angeles » LAX
November 25th 2008
Published: November 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

This past weekend, I flew to Portland to spend time with my two team mates from Tanzania and to watch one of them get married. It was my first real wedding (I went to my cousin's at the age of 12 but don't remember much) and it was great to see such strong Christians pronounce their unity to the world and make a covenant with God.

Since coming back from Tanzania, I have been praying over missions and wondering where God will take me. He continually guides my heart back to here, now, this time and reminds me that today is today and tomorrow will come...tomorrow. God has taken me into a time of solitude where I have signed up to audit a class on Leviticus. I love Leviticus and the amazing detail that God created the laws to purify the people and to point to Jesus being the ultimate sacrifice. I am reminded of Isaiah 52:13 - 53:12 but most importantly, Isaiah 53:10, "Yet it pleased the Lord to bruise Him; He has put Him to grief. When You make His soul an offering for sin, He shall see His seed, He shall prolong His days, and the pleasure of the Lord shall prosper in His hand." (emphasis mine) Jesus is the perfect sacrifice. He was led to the altar without speaking a word, perfect without blemish and I have laid my hands on his head. My sins were transferred to Him. He died for me. What an amazing blessing and yet there is nothing I did to obtain it. It's not about me, it's about Him.

Last week I was praying over a friend of mine and asked God why these certain types keep showing up in my life and why it is so easy to open up about my faith. During this prayer, I know God confirmed in my heart that this is where He has called me.

I am still praying over this and waiting on the Lord's direction but I know that the Lord has shown me where I am to be a missionary. I have had such a strong pull towards the middle east. It is such a desire that I have not been able to explain. Being in Tanzania, at 5:15 am, the mosque near my house would begin to announce the count down to the time of prayer. It would annoy me but it is was so beautiful. They would begin to sing and I laid there and felt the beauty in the words. I long to see Israel and to walk the steps of Jesus. My heart is being shaped into the heart of the Lord.

I have no idea the time frame. It took 6 years for Lizzie to finally leave for the missions field so I could be waiting around for a while but I will stand firm in my faith, continue in my love relationship with the Lord, study and wait on His direction.

I am excited that you are coming along for the journey.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0432s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb