Details, details


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Los Angeles
November 10th 2005
Published: November 15th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Thailand in February 2005Thailand in February 2005Thailand in February 2005

Here I am on Nang Yuan island, Thailand in February 2005 during my vacation with friends Jonathan and Heather.
Although I'm not exactly sure when I'm leaving my job, it is becoming clearer by the day (December 8 really does sound good)...


But, let's fill you in on what is known. My roundtrip ticket between Los Angeles and Bangkok has been booked. I used my frequent flyer miles with United to obtain a free economy class ticket. I leave LAX on January 5, 2006 and return from Bangkok on March 13, 2006. This gives me 9 weeks in SE Asia.

I also have some other reservations...

On January 9, 2006, I have a flight from Bangkok to Phuket. It was too hard to pass up on a $20 airline ticket (Air Asia) to the island of Phuket. After a few days in Phuket, I will travel up to Khao Lak, a town that was hit hard by the tsunami. It is also a great departure spot for diving off the Similan Islands (one of the best, if not the best diving in Thailand).

Now, I have never gone diving but I want to check it out. I've always been fascinated by the ocean. I figure this is a good opportunity to see marine life in an environment with very clear visibility. I have signed up for a PADI open water certification course with SeaDragon Diving (http://www.seadragondivecenter.com). It involves classroom instruction for a couple of days, and then open water dives off a liveaboard boat for 3 days. How cool is that? While I am in Khao Lak for the classroom instruction, I will be staying at Baan Krating Resort. It's a bit of a splurge for me on this trip - $65 per night. However, based on pictures and reviews I've read, it's well worth it. The diving course isn't necessarily cheap either, at about $425 for 5 days, but it includes food & lodging on the boat for the last 3 days/nights.

On February 3, 2006, I leave Bangkok (I'll get back up to Bangkok at some point beforehand by bus, train, air?) for Singapore (south of Thailand). I got an airline ticket for $36 (thanks Air Asia!) from Bangkok to Singapore. After a few days in Singapore, I plan on heading by train through Malaysia, checking out some sights there, and then re-entering Thailand in mid-February.

Everything else is pretty much unknown. I do plan on going to Chiang Mai (city north of Bangkok, Thailand), and I would love to see Angkor Wat in Cambodia.

The intent is to meet other fellow travelers (and locals!), and be flexible. I may end up joining some new found friends and traveling to Laos or Vietnam, or another city in Thailand I never planned on going to. We'll see!

But you'll be right there with me as you follow my blog.

Thanks for reading...







Advertisement



Tot: 0.272s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 19; qc: 89; dbt: 0.115s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb