Retreat


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Lake Arrowhead
November 23rd 2005
Published: November 23rd 2005
Edit Blog Post

RoomiesRoomiesRoomies

Dave, me, Jon Mark, Luke, & Trevor
This past weekend I went up to the mountains outside of Los Angeles, specifically to Lake Arrowhead.

I've been checking out the Sunday night church service at Christian Assembly in Eagle Rock recently. They had their young adults retreat this past weekend and I thought it would be a great opportunity to connect with other young adults at the church and spend some time with God. I had met a few people at the Sunday night services but didn't know anybody well. So off I went on Friday afternoon, carpooling with a couple of others.

The retreat was held at a facility in Twin Peaks, owned & operated by Calvary Chapel. What a great weekend for heading up to the mountains. The weather was perfect. Sunny skies, temperature in the high 60's. I roomed with 4 other guys in a cabin (more of a hotel set-up really). There were around 200 people with Christian Assembly and another 100 or so with another church that was also meeting up there for the weekend.

I even was able to play some sand volleyball on Saturday night. Definitely not expected. I was walking by the court at 9:00 in the evening
VolleyballVolleyballVolleyball

Me, Christy, Jennifer, Mack, Matt, Dan, Johnny & Karen
and there were a couple of guys hitting an old, thrashed volleyball that didn't know what they were doing. I asked them if they wanted some tips. An affirmative from them got me on the sand. I started with the basic platform for passing the volleyball. Within a few minutes, we had another person show up that wanted to play. Now, keep in mind, I'm wearing jeans, a long sleeved polo shirt & boots. Not typical volleyball apparel. We start playing and before I know it, some experienced players show up. Two hours later, we're still playing and have some great games going on. 4 on 4. No jungle ball either. Bump, set, spike. Some big hitting going on too with the low nets. Love it!

Anyway, it was a good weekend. I was able to spend some time reading Scripture, chatting with God, getting to know some people from Christian Assembly, and playing some volleyball! Good stuff.

Thanks for reading...there goes Dave!






Advertisement



Tot: 0.333s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 18; qc: 88; dbt: 0.243s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb