Getting ready!


Advertisement
Published: March 16th 2007
Edit Blog Post

backpack contentsbackpack contentsbackpack contents

I know it doesn't look like much, but this is plenty to last me for 4 weeks!
Well, it's almost time! I've been anxiously awaiting this day for the last few months, and it's hard to believe it's actually just around the corner. What's even harder for me to believe is that I've waited this long to travel abroad. I've always been envious of people who have traveled and experienced other countries and cultures, and now I am. Now I know how Indiana Jones feels before each expedition!

I leave @ 2:50pm Saturday from LA and arrive in Bangkok, Thailand @ 1:10am early Monday morning. Including my 2 hour layover in Taipei, Taiwan, my total travel time will be about 20 hours & 20 minutes. Yeesh! Hope they have a couple good movies to watch!

Upon arrival, I'll check in w/ customs, obtain my visa, exchange some $ into Thai baht (exchange rate is about 37 baht to 1 US$), and grab a taxi to Bangkoks' backpacker central, Khao San Road. From all the books and websites I've read, it should be fairly easy to get a room in a guesthouse or hostel right away. I'm going to be a walking zombie and don't know if I'll actually be able to sleep, but at least I'll have a place to stash my bag.

I plan on updating this blog as often as possible, depending on circumstances.



Advertisement



16th March 2007

Be Safe
Have fun and be safe. Take alot of pictures. Maybe next time I'll head out there with you.
16th March 2007

Right on Bri!!
This blog is great! Have a great time and take care of yourself... and as hard as it might be please, stay away from the girly men :) See you when you get back!!!
16th March 2007

Yeah! Have fun!
I'm so jealous. I'm little.. can I fit in your backpack?
18th March 2007

Enjoy yourself!
Don't get yourself kidnapped out there, come back safe.
19th March 2007

Hope you took a good sleep. Thanks for your good travelBlog to keep you up. You take care of yourself and I will see you the lTravelBlog.
21st March 2007

Sa wa dee khap!
Hey man, glad you finally made it. For 20 dollars it must have been a pretty swank hotel, did they include the ladyboys or did you have to order those seperate? I'm close to the border of Laos finally and will be heading for either Chaing Mai or BKK in two days time. Let me know where you are and we can cross paths at some point. Taryn and I should be on Koh Chang the second week of April and then I'm flying to India. Learn to say"Mie Ow" it means no and should keep the Tuk Tuk drivers at bay. Have fun and see you soon

Tot: 0.136s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0718s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb