Less than a week


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Los Angeles
January 24th 2007
Published: January 24th 2007
Edit Blog Post

It's seems unreal that in five days I'm going to be standing in line at LAX ready to board a plane whose ultimate destination is Amsterdam. Crazy. That's 5 days to say goodbye to everyone I know, take as many pictures as I can of the people/things I'm leaving behind, and to get all the supplies I need. I'm painfully unprepared. It's amazing I even have boots. There are so many things I need to sort out and organize before I go. Wow. Just 5 short days. Sitting in the computer lab here at school it seems like my trip is still so far away. I probably won't believe its happening until I'm actually there.

*sigh* I honestly thought I'd be a lot more excited about going. I mean, I AM excited. This is something I've wanted to do for a long time, but I get a bit sick thinking about the people I'm going to leave behind. I always thought of myself as somewhat of an independent spirit; someone who didn't need the company of others; someone who wasn't bound by relationships. I didn' think I'd even give a second thought to the people I was leaving behind. Turns out that is definitely not true. I guess I'm afraid that my relationships with people won't be the same when I get back. I'm afraid that either I'll change or they'll change and I won't be able to rekindle the friendships I had. Unfortunately, I know quite a few people who have gone abroad that have validated that fear. Oh well, I'm sure I'm worrying for nothing and I'll come back to friends who have eagerly awaited my return. Well, they say that you will learn alot about yourself while traveling. I haven't even left and I'm already learning things about myself.

Hopefully my next post will be from Amsterdam!!!

Advertisement



28th January 2007

from bcn
ran across your note on my blog...how i didn´t see it till now is beyond me! it looks like you will be taking off for the start of your trip in the next two days. the fear you feel...well you are not alone. and let me be the first to say that my experience here in spain has been the biggest rollercoaster ever. do not be discouraged, the intensity of all the emotions makes you discover how deep your soul really goes. wishing you the best of luck and safe travels. feel free to hit me up if you ever need someone random to talk to. jess

Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0241s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb