Jesus is Lord


Advertisement
Netherlands' flag
Europe » Netherlands » North Holland » Amsterdam
January 31st 2007
Published: January 31st 2007
Edit Blog Post

I'm finally in Amsterdam!!!!! Please please please ignore how poorly this post willl probably be written. I haven't slept since I left, so I've been up for well over 24 hours.

Anyways, the flight over here wasn't too horrific. Between the movies, talking, and reading, I was able to pass the the 11 hours without too much trouble.

So...first impressions of Amsterdam:

-I love the weather. I'm a huge fan of coldish weather and overcast skies, and Amsterdam provides exactly that.

-OMG Amsterdam is so freakn cute. It is JUST like the postcards and all the pictures. There are tons upon tons of little shops and botiques and bakeries lining canals. My travelling partner and I spent a few hours just wandering around and taking it all in. Literally, just take four steps in any directiona nd there will be some ridiculoulsy cute shop or restruant you want to check out. One alleys worth of shops is probably enough to tide me over, let alone a whole cities worth. Its all very picturesque.

-People here are fashionable and make me feel like a slob. There are definitely little old women with better fashion sense than me. Seriously, everyone here is tall and beautiful with immaculte style. Nordic blood must carry good genes.

-Old ladies are strong. We had some luggage incidents and small little Dutch woman easily carted around our luggage with one hand.

-BAKERIES !!!! Every other storefront has the most delicious looking pastries I've ever seen. Mom, I might have to break your rule and live on sweets.

-It's hard not to look at the prostitutes. They're kinda fascinating but I think it would be rude to stare.

-Amsterdam as the least organized street/transportation system. Maybe I'm not used to it, or maybe Dutch people have a far better sense of place and direction than I do. We spent a good amount of time at the Central Station hopping from platform to platform trying to find the right train.

Anyways, I'm losing internet minutes. I DO have pictures which I will post when I get my own computer set up.

BTW, the title of the entry is inspired by the many "JESUS IS LORD"signs around our hostel.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

MaozMaoz
Maoz

Super tasty and cheap falafel bar. The fries here rock. Amsterdamers take their fries really seriously.


Tot: 0.037s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0201s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb