Santa Monica Baby!


Advertisement
Published: December 19th 2006
Edit Blog Post

My sister had given me some flu pills and boy did they make me sleep. In the morning I felt rather groggy and stumbled the LA streets in search of a phone card so I could touch base with my friend Diane in LA.
My sister found a church about 20 minutes drive from the hostel so we cruised on over, and got there fairly late to hear a great sermon and meet some LA people who turned out to be quite friendly, considering the pastor kept reminding all that LA is not a friendly city (which apparently is true for most people). So I guess the sermon paid off!
We went down to the Santa Monica pier in the afternoon and walked around. LA was hot! So far in good old Cali we have not seen any rain so this was another expected hot sunny day.
Walking up and down the famous Santa Monica pier we saw various street actors and artists all trying to sell their products and a big ferris wheel. Also on the beach we noticed that part of the beach was taken up with accurately spaced white crosses. Upon closer investigation we discovered that these crosses
Crosses on the beachCrosses on the beachCrosses on the beach

Representing soldiers killed in Iraq.
represented each US soldier killed in the Iraq war. What the media also doesn’t show you is the huge amount of soldiers sent home who are injured to a point where they cannot function the same again and are missing limbs etc. One thing we have noticed in the states is that the war in Iraq has really divided the nation. More so we have seen US citizens disgust with the American government for their involvement in the war. Well they pretty well started it right? Anyway this blog is not about politics so I will refrain from making further comments!
Anyway I will comment on the hostel while I’m on this page. It was fairly cheap but as a result it was a bit nasty. The place was run down and right by a noisy main road. I would not really recommend hostel California in Venice beach. Location wise it is close to most amenities and the
beach. But I’ve stayed at much better. As a general rule of thumb I think that I have learnt that HI hostels are better quality and you usually can expect a good standard from them.



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Santa Monica BeachSanta Monica Beach
Santa Monica Beach

Stitched shots to form a panoramic of Santa Monica Beach.
Third Street PromenadeThird Street Promenade
Third Street Promenade

Part of third street is open for pedestrians only. Its got a ton of designer shops on this part also.
Santa Monica SunsetSanta Monica Sunset
Santa Monica Sunset

From my sisters camera.


Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0519s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb