Back at home until the 29th of July


Advertisement
Published: July 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

We arrived home on Thursday at noon from a brief overnight stay at a hotel next to the airport in Mexico City...just in time for the Thursday night viewing ceremony for my grandfather. The funeral and burial was the day after.
I was very sad to be home for many reasons...obviously I was sad to have lost my grandfather. But I was also very sad to have left Cuba. I really, really liked it there. Something about that island planted itself in my heart and mind...the strong, proud, optimistic, friendly people, the culture of community and family, the politics as it is concsiously experienced in the everyday personal life, the beautiful natural setting on both the coast and in the mountains, the incredible long history of colonization and revolution...I will be back.
The only upside was getting to spend so much quality time with my family. All my uncles, aunts, first cousins, and their spouses were at my grandma's house for most of Thursday, Friday, and Saturday. I am very thankful that I got to be there with everyone as we said goodbye to our grandfather. So many old friends and relatives came to the funeral and mercy meal afterwards. We all shared happy memories and stories about Giddo...the house was full of both laughing and crying. Just what was needed by all. He sure was an incredible person with such a unique history...he was a survivor and a bad ass for sure. Learning and understanding about him has helped me better understand my family...including myself. I am my grandfather's offspring alright...and proud of it! 😊
Now everyone has returned hone and to their normal routine of work and home. Since I am not working right now...and don't really have a home...I am just trying to be there for my dad and grandma as much as I can...hanging out at the house, grocery shopping, clothes shopping, cooking, laughing and more crying with them...
I have decided to resume my travels on the 29th of July...after my dad's minor surgery on the 24th. I will fly back to Mexico City but not get to see it much because I have a flight immediately the next day to Chiapas in southern Mexico. I will be going with a good friend of mine from Long Beach...another teacher who is infected with the traveling bug as well. His name is Andres and he is going to be very fun to travel with for the week...I am excited. We will be in San Cristobal, Chiapas for a couple days, then cross the border in to Guatemala and be at Lake Atitlan for another couple days. I have already been to these two places on a former backpacking trip with Elisa during the summer of 2003, but really loved them both. I am excited to taste them again. 😊


Advertisement



Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 12; qc: 66; dbt: 0.0736s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb