Pity Party!


Advertisement
Published: March 16th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well...today was another stressful day in Los Angeles. Now stressful is relative of course....but it was stressful for me! We had a coastguard inspection today which means that we have the coastguard on board and the crew has to run an emergency drill and an abandon ship drill. Luckily since we are relatively new we don't have any duties....we just go to our emergency station and await orders. This consists of sitting in the Versailles restaurant and waiting until the drill is over. Then we have the abandon ship drill where we have to all go out to Deck 7 and put on life jackets. Today we stood around for about 20 minutes in the cold waiting for the coastguard to finish doing his thing. So after all of that was over we had very little time for our shore leave....and since I haven't been off the ship in LA for the last 2 weeks I had tons of errands to run with no time to do them. So it was a little hectic. I actually did get everything done with the little time I had but ended up back on the ship frazzled. To escape our boredom we sat in the market and ate....drank tea and coffee until we ere hungry again...then ate some more! We had a fitting later this evening because the rest of our costumes for Band on The Run arrived.(we have been wearing back up costumes from other shows...awaiting the new ones) So anyways, one of the costumes is a gold bikini with boy shorts (girls I know you will appreciate this more than the men). Over the bikini we wear brightly colored fur coats...I'll have to send pictures! And then the kicker is the all white lycra jumpsuit we will be boogie woogie-ing in! Wow...it was an intense fitting which consisted of me mostly trying to aviod looking in the mirror or stand up to save other people from having to look at me! Following the traumatizing experience, my roommate Sally and I were in poor spirits...especially since we had just spent the whole day grazing. So we decided to buy a bottle of wine and some Toblerone and settle in to watch The Notebook. It was a fabulous pity party and we had a cathartic cry😊 So that was my day....I guess tomorrow will be filled with the sit-ups and cardio!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.225s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 13; qc: 52; dbt: 0.1154s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb