Universal Studios and Hollywood


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Los Angeles » Hollywood
November 29th 2012
Published: November 29th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Mike outside the Hollywood SignMike outside the Hollywood SignMike outside the Hollywood Sign

Not the real one as everytime we see the real sign it is covered in mist!
So it appears, please note I am saying appears that last night I sat up in bed and cried I want to go home, I want to go home and when Mike asked me why what is wrong I said “I want to go home because I want to know where the toilet is - I don’t want to have to find it every time”. Looks like I am getting homesick!



So we get up this morning and decide that as Universal Studios closes at 5pm (yes, 5 pm that is early) we would go there first and then head off to Hollywood Boulevard. So in the car we jump with the sat nav we have rented and guess what the sat nav is out of battery and the cable is broken - so not good start. Somehow we managed to get to Universal Studios - don’t ask me how we did it but I will admit there were a few choice words between us and they were not all from me!



So we park up in Universal Studios car park and walk to the admissions office. I say to Mike we should get the front of the line passes and we discuss. I managed to get him to agree not sure he believes it is worth it until we get to the first ride which is Shrek in 3D. When we bypassed the massive queue he agreed it was worth the extra as you go straight to the front of the queue. It was amazing and I will let you into a secret I LOVE SHREK. I have never seen anything in 3D before but I can tell you I am a convert. It was so funny as they throw water at you when the donkey sneezes and you can feel something on your legs when there are spiders - we came out of that ride laughing like school children - what have I done turned a professional man into a giggling school kid!



So the next ride we went on was MUMMY this ride was terrifying and you appear to be in the middle of the film and all I can say is I can scream, baby - and am a real scaredy cat -as everyone around me found out quite quickly.



So off we run to the Transformers ride in 3D. I remember when my son (Chris) was little he wanted a transformer and I had to go around shop after shop to try to find one as they were out of stock as soon as they got on the shelf and Chris said that is all he wanted for Christmas. So that is all I knew about Transformers - but all I can tell you is when you are in a 3D ride with transformers jumping on your car they are frightening things - be careful if on the street and a transformer comes toward you.



So we run to catch the Blues Brothers show and if I am honest it was crap so we left early after a bit of a boogy but even seeing Mike boogying did not make me want me to stay. So then off we run to catch the Waterworld production. The first couple of rows were the soak zone and when Mike started walking past them - I said oh no we have to sit in the soak zone otherwise what is the point of being here - he agreed so quickly and was really pleased as half way through the show a plane came out of the sky and landed right in front of us - movie plane I hasten to add. We did get wet but not soaked as I was hoping - I think big kid comes to mind. Mike wanted to go to the house of horrors but he also knows about my bad dreams so a dilemma was on - should I stay or should I go now (does the Clash come to mind here or what!!). Anyway I went, poor Mike had me next to him and three Japanese ladies behind - I can tell you I beat the Japanese ladies by being scared, screaming, pushing poor Mike into the side when some freak came at me - all I can say is we laughed so much and I screamed so much I do not think my voice box or poor Mike’s eardrums will recover for a while - did I love it YES, YES, YES. So to calm the day down we went on the Simpson’s ride - big mistake as again it was 3D and not a very calming experience is all I can say but fun and scary - Mike now I am sure does not have any ear drums left.



We went onto the Special effects tour and the studio tour and they were good but not a lot to write home about, ha ha



So now we are off back in the car to go to HOLLYWOOD BOULEVARD, however, remember we have no sat nav, but we find it, after a few harsh words and me throwing the map, saying I cannot do this, but hey ho, we find it, plus Sunset Boulevard + Santa Monica Boulevard (OMG, songs, songs, songs, Sheryl Crow,now). In my wildest dreams I never thought we would be cruising down hollywood boulevard, how cool or what are we.



I love our crib and having Thai takeaway we are so lucky with a great place to stay we are moving on today to LAS VEGAS, here we come baby, here we come, that is if we can find Avis to get the sat nav changed, ha ha.

Advertisement



29th November 2012

LA Baby
Hey Lord & Lady F, Glad you had fun in LA..... I love Santa Monica Bouleaverd and am uber jel ...... Hope you had the weather for it. Enjoy Vegas *sighs* ...... Hope the fountain show is just as special. See you in a few weeks. JT from the block
30th November 2012

Lord and Lady F
Well we are back in LA for a day after we leave Las Vegas. Will we come back of course to LA not LV. Our time away is coming to an end but all good things come to an end but then there are new beginnings - see u soon

Tot: 0.395s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 17; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1539s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb