Disneyland Adventures


Advertisement
Published: June 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well this morning I left my luxurious Vegas suite, after a really fun weekend, and headed to LA for the next part of my adventure. After the shortest flight of all time (40 minutes), it felt like I took off, dozed off for a second, then landed again. Definately the shortest flight I have ever had - but that was the best part of it!


All the things I have heard from people over here, and from people back home, including Grant, who warned me that the roads are just totally crazy and like nothing I would have ever seen before, were all SO RIGHT. The roads are truly insane here. You are whizzing along a 5 lane freeway going god only knows how fast, and other roads and freeways are going over, around and under you at equally crazy speeds - I like our good Eastern Freeway thanks, and I will take that one anyday - this was far too crazy for me.


When I arrived in Anaheim, you really get an idea that Disneyland is the place the everyone travels all over the world just to get a look at. Its one of those places that you just have to say you have been to, cos you wonder what it is going to be like from when you were a child.


The first thing I noticed about Anaheim was the amount of Australians - they are everywhere! Was so not used to this, as have been getting some weird looks from some people when I am trying to explain something or ask for something and they are looking at me like I am an alien from another planet, speaking in a language they can't comprehend. So was very nice to talk to some fellow Aussies and compare stories about just how weird and wonderful everything is over here. Met a nice couple from Newcastle and we were comparing stories about the food here and how the Americans just have no concept of portion size - we were all laughing at how much we were all craving a yummy salad or a risotto (something heathly but with flavour is very hard to find here).


My hotel is only a short walk to the Disneyland resort, so I checked in and made my way straight down to Disneyland to check it out for myself. As expected, everything is so well done (even over done in some parts) but it really does make you feel like you are in another world - like you are back as a child. There are two parks for those of you that dont know - the original Disneyland Park and the new California Adventure Park. I went to Disneyland Park first, and it really is like you are in a cartoon. Everything feels like you are in a different place and there were people EVERYWHERE!! You could tell it was peak season as I have never seen so many prams and pushers in my life! The queues for some of the activities were an hour long!! Crazy. I wandered around Disneyland for about 4 hours checking it all out, and must say it wasnt as great as I thought it would be. Dont know if it was because I was spoilt with Vegas on the weekend, of if I was just feeling my age!! Ha ha.


I then wandered over the California Adventure park, initally thinking that this wouldnt be as good as Disneyland Park, but I actually really liked this park, actually better than Disneyland Park. There were way more cool rides and everything was a bit more open so you didnt feel like you were surrounded by a million over the top americans! The queues were much better and It was just a more fun place to be. I wandered around this park for another couple of hours and was really glad that I had finally been able to see the place we all wonder about.


I am in Anaheim for tonight then tommorrow morning I head off to Downtown LA where I will be checking out all the famouse sites - Hollywood, Beverly Hills, Santa Monica before heading off to New York for the weekend. Yipee!!!






Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



19th June 2007

Hi to Disneyland
Hi Darling It looks huge !!!! Makes our MovieWorld in Qld look a little small. Love seeing your smiling face in the photo's, Bugsy and I are missing you heaps. Have fun in LA Sending all our love xxxx

Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0269s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb