don't stir too fast or you'll lose all the fizz


Advertisement
Published: June 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

3rd day since I've landed in California. Gosh where do I start?

Well I live with the archaeologists currently, but there was talk of moving me so I get my own room. I currently share a room with a girl from Ohio, go figure. Ohioans are everywhere I look, I swear. But everyone has been really nice. And the barracks aren't that bad either. It's like a little house with 3 rooms, 2 baths, living room and kitchen. No internet which is bummerirrific. I don't have pictures of the place yet; I'll wait till I find my permanent home.

This whole 3 hour time difference thing is not as easy as I thought. This is my first major time zone switch, so give me a break, but last night I went to bed at like 7pm Mountain time and woke up at 8am (which FELT like 11am).

On to the cool stuff. Since yesterday was my first day there, Barbara (with whom I will share a desk and a truck with) took me around to the 3 of the 5 campsites I will be working on the the recycling program for. Each campsite has a host who gets a small salary and a free campsite for being overseers. They are some of the nicest people I've ever met and I pretty much found my retirement job. Lassen Park is much larger than I could have imagined. It's like, duh it's a national park.

Well the parts of the park I got to see have been really amazing. Lake Almanor is like the recreational focal point for the city of Chester (where I live). That picture from the edge of town is where the bridge goes over the lake, but you can't really see that. There's volcanic rock all over this part of the park. It's a really neat contrast to the geology of Ohio. We also stopped at Domingo Springs which, you guessed it, is a natural spring. Giardia, (vomit inducing bacteria) is rampant in the water, so it's drink at your own risk. I wasn't feeling brave yesterday.

Forest fires are obviously an issue out here, and in the past 24 hours I have learned so much. One of the host families we met has a house where a fire is spreading (in Paradise) and they called home yesterday morning to see if their phone and answering machine still worked to see if they still had a house. It's such an odd thing to think about since Ohioans don't have that problem (cause it is always raining...). Part of the forest service's job is to clear out the ladder fuel which is essentially dead brush that accumulates on the forest floor. Everything is so dry here and that's why fires spread so fast.

I am overwhelmed by what to write about, so I will just explain my pictures. The edge of town is taken at the beginning of Chester. It's where I came into on the drive from Reno.

The pictures of the people are from my seat at this adorable little coffee shop on the main strip of town. The owner had his daughter and her friend working with him. Presh. And everyone is super nice. Only issue is they don't have wireless internet. Maybe if I become a regular I could coerce them into that.

The last picture is of the cat in the library where I am now. This library is oh so cute.

Well, I will give more details on my job once I start it up next week. I need to develop a catch phrase when I send off.



Advertisement



15th June 2008

You find Ohioans everywhere because most Ohioans are keen to leave Ohio. Ohio.
16th June 2008

Amazing
Well PAAAAM looks like you've found a great niche for the Summer! The town sound like Northern Exposure --- remember that TV show in the early 90's? Where the lady had a log for a baby? Pretty funny... I'll look for some DVDs of it to send.... Looks like a great place....nice small town environment... This blog is a great idea ..... I will look forward to your entries! Have fun! oxoxo Candace PS -- watch out for the bears!!
17th June 2008

This is a great blog! I look forward to reading more. Thanks for sharing. - Mom :)
18th June 2008

HI LEAH
Leah, You are too funny. Glad you're having a good experience. Let us know an address. But, um, one question...what happenned to marine biology? I guess I'm getting too old to keep up to date with you youngins.

Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0386s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb