leaving on a jet plane... in 3 days


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Ohio » Athens
June 9th 2008
Published: June 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

I believe I can fly


The count down has officially begun. I am 4 finals, a trip home, and a flight away from 3 months of "you're gonna have such a great time."

From June until the end of August, I will be fulfilling my internship requirement as "Recycling Program Management Intern" at Lassen Volcanic National Forest (Park?) in Chester, CA. Let's see what the Wild ole West has in store for this Midwest Bobcat (OU joke, bah duh duh).

My flight leaves Thursday morning from Cleveland, hits Phoenix and drops me in Reno. From there it's like an hour and a half car ride. I'm living in "baracks" (can't wait to find out what that actually means...). I really want to carry on my mandolin, you know, bring a little Appalachia with me. Here's hoping.

I guess we'll see how interesting placing trash cans around a park really is. Don't laugh, at least not yet.

But seriously, I am really excited to start up this blog and have you all right there with me. As simple as this sounds, this is one of my major stepping stones in gaining experience in the field of environmentalism. And AS SIMPLE AS THIS SOUNDS some of you don't recycle (I'm pointing at you mom and dad), so I hope I become that inspiration to take that extra thought to separate the #1s and #2s from the #5s (and don't even consider drinking out of the #7s, seriously).

I will miss you all very much this summer and I regret not being around to spend these months with you, but I am very much looking forward to adding something new to my life. I hope you think of me when you are bored at work and need something to read (cause I really don't want to repeat myself a bazillion times). I don't know exactly how this thing works, but I encourage you to leave me comments, so make a user name if you have to. I will try to be as entertaining as possible, but that's easy when you are such a witty lass as myself 😊

Enjoy.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 12; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0654s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb