no sign of the black bear


Advertisement
Published: June 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Where I workWhere I workWhere I work

I work here, at this sign
My days off here are Tuesdays and Wednesdays, and I aim to update on Wednesdays, so I will start that regularity today. I don't have much to report as I have only worked one day, but I have some pictures of the good old outdoors to share.

Last weekend I had free to get acclimated and essentially bore myself to death. Everyone I live with was out of town and I barely saw a person around the barracks all weekend. Friday I went into town and that's was when I updated last. Saturday I wanted to go down to Lake Almanor and read. Well, I made it about 8 miles before I decided I was tired and I shouldn't be biking this far on my own. Some of these picture are from that 15 mile + bike ride (I have an awesome bike they lent me by the way).

Monday we went around to the other two campsites that we needed to see. We also took some back country roads that led through Humbug valley. In the meadow down there (which is ridiculously gorgeous) there's a spring called Soda Springs which bubbles up carbonated water. They don't recommend drinking it these days because of the Giardia and the cow feces, but it used to make really great lemonade. If I make it back there, I may just make up some lemonade. Bacteria and fecal matter have never stopped me before. And like a doofus, I forgot Michelle's camera and I need to figure out how to get those pictures from my phone on the computer since I have never been in this predicament before. Gah technology.

As far as my project goes, I have been to all the campsites and met all the hosts. I need to corner my supervisor tomorrow morning to really get cracking. We have the bins in (we're recycling aluminum, plastic, and glass), and we're supposedly laying concrete next week. I can't wait to give my campfire talk. I have tons of topics brainstorming such as water bottle waste, composting, energy efficiency (biofuels and energy efficient options such as CFL bulbs), and obviously recycling. People in Cali get money for their bottles and they still don't recycle. I don't get it...

I suppose one day I will get worked up and rant about things, but in the mean time if anyone has any questions, comments, or insults on global warming or sustainability, I welcome them. If anything it challenges me to beef up my story by learning more. I recognize we don't all have the same views, but it is important to at least understand those views you oppose. What's good if you don't know the bad, aye?

In the mean time, we all know there are things we could do to not only lower our carbon footprint, but lower our bills. So turn off the lights you aren't using, and don't let the water run (turn off that computer mom...). Capische? Sweet deal.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



19th June 2008

Hi Leah
Loved reading your blogs. You are a quit an adventurous girl. I'm proud of you !! You are pushing me and I just may have to get those recycling bins back out. Have a great time and stay safe!
19th June 2008

I kept my computer on last night.
19th June 2008

Have a great time Leah
Hey this is fun reading your blog, which, incidentally, I had to track down on FB because I didn't get an email from you about it ;( I am already an avid reader. Reader of 3 entries.
21st June 2008

HI
Hi leah, just checking to see whether my messages are getting thru. let me know when you can. Enjoyed reading your blog - will look forward to tuning in. auntiepheenie
22nd June 2008

Better Than Thoreau ;)
I could read your stuff all day! Keep it coming, and when you get back .. have a book written for me! (on anything from Leah)! P.S. I like your mom's comment, he he
27th June 2008

har har
"I work here, at this sign." Now imagining Leah at a big metal desk right next to the sign, waving awkwardly to passing cars. In a ranger uniform, too.

Tot: 0.033s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0159s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb