Day 1 - Los Angeles, CA to Gilroy, CA


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Gilroy
June 19th 2017
Published: June 20th 2017
Edit Blog Post

After all the planning and preparation, I'm finally on the road and not a moment too soon. At 5am, after one final safety check, I straddled the Mothership and thumbed the big six cylinder to life. Usually my bike likes a little choke in the morning until it warms up and smooth out but not today. She lit right up at a touch of the starter and settled into a smooth grumbling idle as if to say "Forget the choke, forget warming up. I'm ready, let's do this." I concurred completely. Clutch in, down into first and we were off. Before 6am, the L.A. freeway system is actually functional. I found myself cruising along in light traffic at about 75 mph, a feat that is unachievable from the hours of 6AM to 11PM most days.





As I rolled up the 101 through downtown and into the San Fernando valley, I began to feel the weight of my day to day responsibilities drifting away. For the next three weeks, I am responsible only for myself and the Mothership. I answer to no one, there are no meetings to attend, no metrics to strive for, no one to answer to. All of these things will be waiting for me when I get home and I will embrace all of them as I always have. I truly love what I do and the people that I get to do it with but for the next three weeks, I have no job, no title, no responsibilities.

I am the Alien and I ride. Alone on the road, every decision is mine. But the road can and does bite back. Make a wrong decision out here and it could very well be your last. Traveling by motorcycle is a life and death proposition, anyone who thinks otherwise doesn't belong within 500 feet of a bike. A moment's inattention, a lack of skill, a poor judgment call or someone else's stupidity can end you in an instant. While many would find this horrifying, I feel just the opposite. In total concentration, I find total relaxation. In total relaxation, I find I can concentrate even more deeply. The motorcycle is the only way that I have ever found to disconnect and recharge at this level. That's what's kept me riding for over 25 years.



By the time I pass Camarillo, where the old state mental hospital used to be, I'm starting to get hungry. I push on to Carpenteria before finally giving in and seeking the sustenance that will feed not only my body but also my mind and soul. That's right, McDonald's!!! There's something about having three weeks off of your job, a great motorcycle and thousands of miles of open road ahead of you that makes processed "cheese" and rubber "eggs" taste like the feast of a King. Disclaimer: I have never sampled the feast of an actual King but I have been to Medieval Times once or twice, so that's the scale that I'm going by



I arrived in Gilroy (garlic capitol of the world, apparently) early in the afternoon. When I went into the motel lobby to get a room, I was informed by the desk person that the motel was completely booked. Two things pegged my B.S. meter about this assertion. The first was that she didn't even glance at her computer before denying me a room. The second was that this is a there story motel with 4 cars in the parking lot. I assured her that although I am a large man with a large motorcycle, I would not be causing any problems. I also assured her that I have a job, a wife, a car payment and that I do not eat children like some sort of bridge dwelling troll. This got a bit of a smile from her. She said that she had had some issues with large groups of riders in the past. I assured her that I was alone and she finally allowed as how there might be quite a few rooms available after all. Saved by me stellar personality. Ha!



A few hours later, my brother Mike drove down from Sacramento and we went out to dinner. It was really great to see him. I have one brother and three sisters and we are scattered over northern California, Southern California, Virginia and New York. Any time I get to spend with my siblings is treasured indeed. Unfortunately, Mike had to leave right after dinner as he had to drive the 2.5 hours back to Sacramento so that he could be at work in the morning.



Now it's off to bed. Tomorrow, I continue my journey north. I promise some cool riding video on tomorrow night's post.



Ride Safe,

Alien

Advertisement



Tot: 0.136s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0398s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb