Home


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Fresno
February 27th 2008
Published: February 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Wow.... finally back home. That trip went by very quickly. Now that I can finally sit down in peace, I will fill in everything that I never put up on this blog.

MIAMI:
Amazing tropical city. Humidity was killer. We stayed at the Biscayne Bay Hotel which was beautiful. When you go out on the streets of Miami, all you see is green. There is SO much growth everywhere; palm trees, plants, flowers, vines on buildings. Miami itself is growing; everywhere you go, you see new buildings under construction. The University of Miami, itself, is no less beautiful; everyone wears shorts and t-shirts and sits under giant palm trees that are strewn throughout the campus. Everyone walking around is tanned are very relaxed. I came the day after the U beat Duke, so everyone was very school spirited. The Medical School Campus is also very beautiful, but is, of course, in a bad area (like almost every other med school). The Medical School isn't one building like Drexel, but rather an area. The Medical Center takes up a few blocks and is made up of two hospitals, the school, and the different research centers. When you walk around the
Photo 2Photo 2Photo 2

I own MIA.
area, you see doctors and medical students walking around on the streets with their coats and scrubs on with all the other pedestrians; it's a very interesting sight to see. I think my interview went pretty well; I met a few of my competition. One of the girls I met was also from California - that was cool. After the interview, I went to the world famous South Beach, which was AWESOME. When I was driving down Ocean Dr., I felt a weird feeling of deja vu; I felt as if I had been there before, and seen that exact place, buildings, trees, everything. Then I realized that it was the exact same site from Grand Theft Auto: Vice City. Anyway, South Beach was great; it was where I took my photos. The next day, I had to leave the tropical paradise for Kansas City, but you got to do what you got to do.

KANSAS CITY:
Most of the fun at Kansas was at night. The first night, I visited Kansas City Plaza. It was pretty fun, especially since I had locals show me the way and tour me through the city. The next days were spent working on preparing for my upcoming interview, and visiting other people whom I knew. Then came the day of the interview. I looked especially good that day, because I wore a different tie than usual. The interview day was intense: we took two tests (which were a joke), had tours, and then the interview. Apparently, one of the people I interviewed with was the co-founder of the Medical School. He was around 80 years old and a complete drill master. He usually cut me off in my answers to ask me another one. He probably asked me about 15-20 questions in the 20 minutes we were in the interview room. Although that may sound bad, it really wasn't, because I was prepared and ready for anything he could have thrown at me. I was spitting fire back at him, and he just continued to try to stump me. The last few questions he brought up politics and the elections, and I just met him back with solid answers. It felt good. The second interviewer was a lot nicer, and she didn't drill me like the other guy. She asked me a lot less questions, but I still spit fire with everything she gave me. Overall: Well.

HOME:
Coming home never felt better. It had been a long and exhausting trip. I slept for 14 hours before waking up. It is already warm here, but me gusta. Anyway, I have attached the Miami photos on here so enjoy, and I will see you on Friday. Cheers! 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

Photo 10Photo 10
Photo 10

Saw 5 of those that night
Photo 11Photo 11
Photo 11

South Beach
Photo 15Photo 15
Photo 15

Yes, I took this pictures, and yes, this was at night time.


Tot: 0.152s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0429s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb