Careless Contemplation


Advertisement
Published: March 9th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Careless contemplation occurs when in awe of something beautiful, such as a sunset, with so many thoughts there are none left for writing later. One would think by now I would actually remember to bring my laptop with me when in this kind of awe and contemplative moment. I don't though. Yesterday, another kind of awe occurred and careless contemplation followed...I have no idea what I wanted to say about the giants along the road as I drove. What I can remember is the giants seemed to reach beyond the sky, as I could not see their tops and they blocked the sunlight to the floor of this old forest. The Redwoods remind me of Paul Bunyon and his blue ox Babe; only a lumberjack so legendary could pull a tree from these woods. Winding 34 long miles (apparently this road plays by the same mph as Oregon) down the coastal mountain brought me into this harbor town twice the size as the one I am from and yet full of the same small town feel. Mendocino Bay is beautiful, and I am excited about watching the sunset later. With my laptop at hand for once.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.149s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 12; qc: 51; dbt: 0.1039s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb