Travel Regrets


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Clovis
September 1st 2023
Published: August 29th 2023
Edit Blog Post

Too few to mention!!! But the Impulse Traveler has listed some that many of us have experienced! Here they are: Flight or Rail Delay or Cancelation-This is a real PIA, but as I learned, always have a Plan B, and not just for unwanted pregnancy! Taking a trip in a Third World country can be problematic, given their history of reliability. Always try to take the first flight or train out in the early morning. Just think about Steve Martin and John Candy if it happens to you.


Choosing a Bad Travel Partner-Fortunately, I have the great Mr. Mike, world's best travel buddy. But I have a few on the bench just in case he can't go. And I always can go solo! The worst is the cheapskate, who wants to divide every dinner tab down to the penny with a calculator! Despite his status as a multi-millionaire, I had to get rid of him.


Not taking enough photos-Yes, this can be a problem, as much as taking too many. I have always tried to be selective, since I don't like having to edit and delete. Many people tell me that I need to be in more photos, so I have taken their advice to heart. Looking back on photos I took during my first trips to Europe; I realize I cannot remember what half of them are! It is best to take some notes each day.


Not being flexible-I am the definition of flexible, having often purchased only plane tickets and first night(s) hotel. A good example was several weeks in Chile and Argentina, only the first night in Santiago was reserved. On the other hand, it is a real PIA having to go from hostel to hostel to find a place in the middle of the night. You decide what you can live with.


Missing Out! I have never really had this happen to me, save for perhaps a concert, sporting event or dinner at a famous place. No big loss, as several alternatives are always available. I have also been offered many nice options and turned them down, much to my regret.


Learning local customs and etiquette-Just use some common sense, read the travel books, spend some time researching your destinations. When in doubt, just ask!


Overpacking-Everyone has been guilty of this. I just give the clothes away or donate along the way. Just remember to dress and pack in layers.


Saving enough money for a trip-With credit cards, this is generally not an issue anymore. But having a budget is always a good idea. I rarely set limits, since I figure I will never be back!


Not traveling to a desired location-I say, never settle, as you won't be happy. While it has happened to me just a few times, it was the weather or other circumstances that made me feel this way.


Bad time of year-Many travelers try to go off season or shoulder season to save money. I always go in the spring and fall, when school is in session, and tourists are not there. Sometimes it is unavoidable, like a family wedding, or reunion. I hate the extremes, hot or cold!

Gerry's rules or lack thereof:


• I always figure I am NOT coming back to this part of the world. So, do it right the first time!
• Be selective, try not to do everything.
• I miss the old internet rooms, where I met Jason and Chun, and the inimitable Barry the V.
• The "free" breakfast is not always a good breakfast!
• Use your frequent flyer miles to upgrade and use the airline lounges whenever possible.
• Find your version of Mr. Mike!
• Travel in October and May (at least for now, unless climate change makes it problematic).
• Pack clothing that you can donate or discard if you need suitcase space.
• Bring little gifts for those times when you have some memorable encounters.
• Always carry some cash!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.202s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 29; dbt: 0.1603s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb