How Has Travel Changed in Ten Years?


Advertisement
Published: October 31st 2023
Edit Blog Post

For me, I would say the biggest change is using Uber instead of cabs and buses. I still prefer public transportation whenever it is efficient, timely, and convenient. I love using the metros/subways in places like NYC, DC, Chicago, Paris, Athens, Munich, Seattle, SF Bay Area, London. I also value time over money, in most cases. Why spend half a day or more to get somewhere, when an easy one-hour flight will work, for a reasonable price. I still enjoy the train, especially in Japan and Europe. Tour guides are valuable resources when hitting a new city. They seem to know enough inside information to help me get to the "next level" of enjoyment, food, and culture. Apartments and Air BnB allow for more room, washers and dryers, even decent kitchens for some easy meals. But since I travel solo often, I still think a hotel room is more efficient for me. My experience with AirBnB is not good. I don't stay in hostels anymore, but I did when I was younger. They were great for meeting other travelers, sharing information, and partying. Those days of long nights are over for me. Mostly, though Crete changed me forever! A more relaxed itinerary has become standard as I get older. I usually plan only two big activities per day now. You should do the same and increase your level of sanity and relaxation. My nightlife is non-existent, unless I am with a group of friends. Solo nightlife can get dangerous. What has changed for you?

Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 13; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0315s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb