Pots from the Picuris Pueblo


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » California » Bakersfield
January 12th 2012
Published: January 12th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Many years ago I was in New Mexico and stopped at a shop for coffee, I ended up buying a bowl, about 900 years old. It had been broken and glued together so it didn’t cost much, maybe $40.00. That was the beginning of my antiquities collection. Now there are people who do not think that these items belong in private collections, I like my bowls so there it is.

Since that early bowl I’ve collected a few others, I prefer the old ones, you can feel the places where the maker placed their fingers. They are not fancy but were used for meals or everyday containers. There is a connection.

Dale bought a book on pots that we found at the Grand Canyon, turned out that our pot was discussed, or at least one like it. But recently Dale was re-reading the book and found a section on the Picuris Pueblo and their pots. The pots from this area have more mica in them giving them a glittery look. The pots are a specialty for beans, a utilitarian pot rather than one for finery. They do make all sorts of clay items though.

We did some research and found that there are pot makers and that the pots are usable. We found one who makes pots, I emailed only to hear back that she is in California. Boo! We want one from someone who lives there.

I think that we will go to the Picuris Pueblo when we are in Taos next week; it is only 30 miles from Taos. We can go to the museum and gift shop then see if we can buy something very local. Can’t wait to see how the beans turn out!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.332s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 11; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0715s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb